Join Early Retirement Today

Stock Options
Old 06-04-2005, 03:53 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Stock Options

What can anyone tell me about stock options? I have had zero experience with them, but now have the need to know pros and cons of when to sell, tax info, etc. Is there a certain amount that they should go up before selling? My spouse says that you can just do a paper trade and no money exchanges hands, so I guess that would be short term capital gains? If you used your own money and kept them for a year, then you could have the long term capital gains. Any advice that you can give would sure be appreciated. They were going up and have since started going down again, so I hope that I have not waited too long. Thanks.

Dreamer
Dreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Re: Stock Options
Old 06-04-2005, 08:52 PM   #2
Dryer sheet wannabe

I guess my advice is "I never invest in something that I don't understand."

Options can clean your clock if not understood and stayed on top of. Of course so can Las Vegas.