Subdividing land

boutros

Recycles dryer sheets
In reading through the forums it looks like some people on the board achieved FIRE partly through RE investing. I am new to this but have been giving it some thought over the last couple of years. Does anyone have experience buying land and subdividing it? What kind of costs exists? Can this be financed? What kind of rates? How much equity does one need to start?

The costs that I can think of are
Cost of land
Access road
grading and clearing property
Bringing in utilities
Taxes while owning property
Marketing property
Maintaining property
Survey
Interest on financing
Legal costs :confused:

My biggest concern would be how to finance project and how much equity upfront. Thanks

I knew a guy that did something like this, but it sounds like a huge headache since you have to learn the zoning issues, etc, and he didnt know what he was doing and got caught cutting corners on cleanup of some old structures and paid fines. It seems like you have to gather a lot of info. to figure out your profit. Good luck.

When I was living in Iowa, my neighbor decided to subdivide his 40 acres of land. He looked into it and figured out that he needed to get it surveyed, develop a subdivision plan, . . . After spending several thousand dollars, he was ready to go to the county zoning commision and get the land re-zoned. But two weeks before he submitted his application and was to appear before the group, they decided that the county roads in our area could not support more subdivision. They banned further subdivision for 5 years when road improvement would be scheduled.