Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Sweep Account
Old 07-22-2011, 07:15 AM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 14
Sweep Account

Can anyone explain how the Sweep account Works?

Just read the wells trade contract that there is a 0.30% fee on the funds held in the sweep account?
__________________

__________________
HappyEarlyRetirementForum is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-22-2011, 07:32 AM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Rambler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,250
I have a sweep account at schwab...no fees. They sweep all the cash in my brokerage acct into that account nightly so that it is always working (even if at low rates) for me.

R
__________________

__________________
Find Joy in the Journey...
Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 08:44 AM   #3
Dryer sheet wannabe
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 14
Is my understanding correct:

The sweep account is the money market account that holds the funds
for the brokerage account? and from those funds I pay for my orders?

Also, when I sell a stock the funds from the sale are placed into the sweep until the transaction clears?

And, the dividend payments from investments are sent to the sweep?

-------------------------------------

So the goal is:

to only move funds to the sweep when I want to place an order?

And move the funds out of the sweep as fast as possible into my PMA account?

-----------------------------------------
__________________
HappyEarlyRetirementForum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 08:49 AM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
brewer12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16,391
Cannot speak to your specific account as i use schwab, bit most sweep accounts pay interest rather than charging fees. A sweep is just a holding pen for money in between trades. Mine is actually an FDIC insured savings account rather than a money market.
__________________
"There are three kinds of men. The one that learns by reading. The few who learn by observation. The rest have to pee on the electric fence for themselves."



- Will Rogers
brewer12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 09:52 AM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
FIRE'd@51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyEarlyRetirementForum View Post
Also, when I sell a stock the funds from the sale are placed into the sweep until the transaction clears?
No funds are transferred to the sweep account until the transaction settlement date (3 business days after the trade date for stocks).
__________________
I'd rather be governed by the first one hundred names in the telephone book than the Harvard faculty - William F. Buckley
FIRE'd@51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 10:22 AM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kerrville,Tx
Posts: 2,726
I believe that is the management fee for the money market fund you are parking your money in. By doing this the account is effectively a zero interest account. Note you can get an FDIC insured account thru Wells Fargo Advisors it pays a whopping .05% pa. It can be used as a sweep account also.
__________________
meierlde is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 11:55 AM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,627
WF does not charge 0.3% for the sweep account unless you pick a special sweep account. It's in the fine print. If you pick the default or the default tax-exempt sweep account, there is no extra 0.3% fee.

Furthermore, no matter which broker you use, if you use a money market fund or money market account for the sweep account, then that fund has an expense ratio that gets paid.

Your sweep account is your PMA account (but not necessarily your PMA checking account which is something different). WF will move the funds automatically for you so you do not have to think about it.

Of course, the sweep account is paying such a paltry interest rate that you will probably not want to keep much money there. For example, I use VCSH for any and all the fixed income in my brokerage account.
__________________
LOL! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 02:40 PM   #8
Dryer sheet wannabe
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 14
Quote:
WF does not charge 0.3% for the sweep account unless you pick a special sweep account. It's in the fine print. If you pick the default or the default tax-exempt sweep account, there is no extra 0.3% fee.
Yes, in the contract it can be found that the PMA becomes the sweep account when linked.

But I look through my papers and browse online and I don't see anything about the type of sweep account I have. All I find is bank sweep account.

The sweep is my brokerage account?

Right now my account is $0.00 so to buy funds I load the sweep?

Do I need to keep the sweep funded? The wells trade account requriemnts is the account needs $1,000.00.

Is that $1,000.00 requirment in cash held in the brokerage account? or does that include stock/fund holdings?

I'd like to hold a zero balance in the sweep and load it when I want to buy. Does this make sense?
__________________
HappyEarlyRetirementForum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 03:57 PM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyEarlyRetirementForum View Post
Yes, in the contract it can be found that the PMA becomes the sweep account when linked.

But I look through my papers and browse online and I don't see anything about the type of sweep account I have. All I find is bank sweep account.

The sweep is my brokerage account?
Generally, yes.

Quote:
Right now my account is $0.00 so to buy funds I load the sweep?
Yes.

Quote:
Do I need to keep the sweep funded? The wells trade account requriemnts is the account needs $1,000.00.
No, you do not need to keep the sweep funded. It can have $0.00 in it as mine does right now.

Quote:
Is that $1,000.00 requirment in cash held in the brokerage account? or does that include stock/fund holdings?
I never saw that, but I have more than $1,000 in ETFs in the account anyways.

Quote:
I'd like to hold a zero balance in the sweep and load it when I want to buy. Does this make sense?
Sort of. You can have zero balance and load it, but to load it will take some amount of time. To load from your WF PMA checking account will take about an hour which is the only way I have done it.
__________________
LOL! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 06:45 PM   #10
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 57
We are in the process of moving all of our accounts away from Wells Fargo. DW just recieved a statement showing that they have released the funds from an old IRA that she had someplace where she worked. $25 charge to close the account.

When we closed a trust account where the person had passed away, they deducted ALL of the interest that had been earned on a number of CDs, because 'the trust didn't die and the CDs were cashed in before maturity date'.

Same person had some money from a different IRA. Guess what the WF advisor recommended? Of course, an annuity! When I looked it up, it was on of the highest commissioned annuities in the market.

They were the most difficult of all of the financial institutes and brokerage houses to deal with. I am in the process of moving everything out of WF. Another person who helped on the trust is doing likewise.
__________________
ER Fireball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 07:13 PM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,627
Note that a WF account that uses an advisor is completely separate and different from the do-it-yourself PMA relationship where you are on your own.

I'd ditch any accounts where an advisor is/was involved pronto-quicko.

Lots of places have account closure fees. I think the WF brokerage account closure fee might be around $90.
__________________
LOL! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 08:32 PM   #12
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 702
Banks in Florida have just started being converted to WF from Wachovia. I just read an article today that when you use automatic bill paying WF is now deducting funds from your account 2-5 days prior to the payment date. Wachovia never did that so people are upset.
__________________

__________________
FreeAtLast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Annuity or taxable account Snowx800 FIRE and Money 8 07-24-2011 05:51 PM
Bond fund in taxable account? joecaf53 FIRE and Money 1 07-09-2011 03:48 PM
Real Estate In A ROTH wallygator69 FIRE and Money 6 07-05-2011 09:27 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:49 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.