Tax advice

Moemg

Gone but not forgotten
I have 50% in a taxable account and 50 % in an IRA . Should I just use the dividends and capital gains from both accounts to make up my 4% or would it be better to just use the dividends and capital gains from the taxable account and sell assets from the taxable account if needed and leave the IRA to continue to grow . Thanks , I'm new at the spending part of retirement .

First I would make withdrawals from the IRA (which are taxed as ordinary income) to offset personal exemptions and the standard/itemized deduction. Then I would use qualified dividends and LT capital gains from the taxable account to bring me up to the 4% SWR. This year (and possibly 2009 & 2010) the portion of qualified dividends/LT cap gains which fall into the lower 2 brackets are taxed at 0%, and after that at 15%.

If you have any other taxable ordinary income (e.g. interest, SS, etc.), I would reduce the amount withdrawn from the IRA by this amount, the point being to use deductions/exemptions to shelter ordinary income, then get the favored tax treatment on qualified dividends/LT cap gains.