Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Tax Prep Costs? Am I getting ripped off?
Old 01-30-2015, 01:37 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Tax Prep Costs? Am I getting ripped off?

I've been using the same tax prep firm, based in NY, for about 7 years. I have and continue to live overseas this whole time. They have always charged about 5-6K per year to do my taxes, which I accepted as the cost of living overseas while I was working given how few firms really know how to handle all the overseas rules, and they truly do a lot of it. Now, however, I only have investment income from US investments (no overseas income). although I still live overseas. But they are still billing me 5-6K per year. Does this sound like a crazy amount to pay for tax prep? They are basically just doing a US head of household filing, and three state tax filings given K-1 investments I have in California, Maryland and Hawaii.

I have another accountant handling some small US-based LLC work for me, and he's offered to do my personal taxes for as little as $1500 and claims "he'd know what to do" with any overseas issues that might arise, but admits he does very little of it.

My concern here is just that "you get what you pay for". Am I being taken to the cleaners by my tax accountant?
robby is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!