Join Early Retirement Today

Tax rate for ex-Californians
Old 03-23-2016, 03:21 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Tax rate for ex-Californians

I bet there must be more than a handful of ex-Californians here. :-)

I am a California resident now but plan to move out of state when I ER next year.

My question is this: suppose after I ER, I keep a rental property in CA and collect a yearly rent of $30k. What is the CA tax rate on this rent?

This $30k will be the only income that is sourced in CA. Do I pay tax based only on this $30k on the CA tax return?

I think CA is known for its aggressive stance against ex-residents that I think it must be something more. Could the return be somehow also based on other factors in my federal return?

Thanks.

Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

CA Rental
Old 03-23-2016, 03:25 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

CA Rental

Based on my experience renting out my condo, you will not be taxed on the 30 K. You can deduct mortgage interest, property taxes, insurance, maintenance and depreciation, same as on the Federal return.