Join Early Retirement Today

Taxes - any disadvantges to E-file?
Old 03-07-2007, 10:33 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Taxes - any disadvantges to E-file?

Setting aside the argument that it makes it easier for the feds to automatically audit you - any other negatives?

I've never done it, in some past years I had an odd form or a very long Sched-D (testosterone effect) that it would not accept, so I have no experience. I did my taxes this year with TaxAct on-line, it offers free E-File for fed, and I see my state (IL) offers a free electronic filing from their own web site.

Advantages: Less paper to print. No trip to post office, no stamp/envelope to buy and no concern that it gets lost. Also, it looks like you can set up automatic withdraw/deposit from a bank routing number, so no checks to write or deposit.

Since I do returns for ourselves and each of three kids, the printing/mailing/check writing adds up.

So, any negatives? Do you need to answer 99 questions to get it done, or does it pretty much take the data from your completed forms?

TIA - ERD50
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!