The Bond Buyer's Dilemma - B Malkiel

Midpack

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I am not happy with my bond holdings, but I'm not sure these approaches make me more comfortable (just looks like trading more risk for potentially higher returns, lots of ways to do that) I wish they did. But I'm no expert, so maybe useful to others...
Burton G. Malkiel: The Bond Buyer's Dilemma - WSJ.com
Are we in an era now when many bondholders are likely to experience very unsatisfactory investment results? I think the answer is "yes" for many types of bonds—and that this will remain true for some time to come.

Last edited:
I know what you mean. He seems to be concerned with future value. Someone in the accumulation phase should already have a large allocation to equities, and someone in the withdrawal phase needs to be concerned with portfolio survivability, not total return. I wonder what his advice would be if asked what allocation would make the portfolio safer for a recent retiree looking at 30+ years but needing regular withdrawals?

I am not happy with my bond holdings, but I'm not sure these approaches make me more comfortable (just looks like trading more risk for potentially higher returns, lots of ways to do that) I wish they did. But I'm no expert, so maybe useful to others...
Burton G. Malkiel: The Bond Buyer's Dilemma - WSJ.com

I completely agree that he is suggesting trading more risk for potentially higher returns.

He says,
Even if inflation over the next decade averages 2%, which is the Federal Reserve's informal target, investors will find that they will have earned a zero real rate of return.
but I always thought inflation was addressed by the equity portion of my portfolio, not the bond portion; I am happy with my bonds if they keep up with inflation.

From Malkeil article: