The Cost of Working

chinaco

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
My planned ER date is not far off. I am studying our finances, to get a better understand of our Income while I am working versus after I ER.

One area I have been exploring is the cost of working. Those expenses that are related to earning a wage. I am just getting into it... but, I found over 8% gross reduction out of my gross pay in 3 areas:

• SS Contribution
  • Medicare Contribution
  • Fuel cost reductions not driving to work.
I know when I look closer, I will probably find that savings on wear and tear on our vehicles, parking costs (work downtown), lower car insurance (because of reduced driving mileage), work clothes, etc... I will probably find that I will save upwards of 10%... perhaps 12% in (gross income) costs to work.

I will, of course have some expenses in ER that will offset some of those savings (most notable are Mega Corp ER Health Ins Premiums).

Has anyone on the forum done a detailed analysis of pre/post work cost differentials? That is expense of working versus new expenses in retirement?

I am also looking at our pure out of pocket cash flow after tax to better understand our pre/post working budget.

But I must admit, most of my ER expense assumptions (over the years) has been using a replacement of a percentage of gross wages.

It is almost like finding money. Whoopeeeeee! :clap:

I havent got into detailed analysis since I've cut back to part time, but my auto fuel costs seem to be reducing almost proportionally with hours worked. I was at $350 per month when working full time. At half time, I'm about $200. I expect to be about $100 per month in gas in full retirement

Gas costs when working: About 200-250/month. Gas costs when not working, 10-20/month. Reason #9453 for retiring as soon as possible.