The pension system destruction continues

dumpster56

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
IBM will freeze it pension as of 2008 and start to phase out defined benefits.

I gotta say we americans have brought this mess on ourselves. we have allowed the companies we have worked for do what they want, hey I feel for all of the people who worked for companies like Bethlehem Steel, United Airlines , GM for 25 30+ years only to see the promise STOLEN by these companies.

Heck I have been teaching for almost 30 years in the public school systems in the state of New Jersey and was NOT at the time Given a chocie, I HAD TO JOIN THE PENSION SYSTEM!

Now I am told that it costs too much to fund after the funding by the state was NOT DONE when an old gov Christy Whitman underfunded the system and raided the funds for other things.

The state has raised copayments for healthcare and is talking about getting rid of the early retirement option sooner than later!

I am getting out and taking my early retirement pension in june, Buying a house for cash in a low tax area of the country and getting a better low stress job!

Hope the pension I do get holds over the long term.

It really is crappy when they change the rules during the game.

I'm not sure what point you're making about IBM, NG.

It sounds like IBM is going to start its new employees on a defined contribution system and let the DBP die with its retirees.

There's considerable sentiment among employees of the steel, airlines, & auto industries that management let the unions dictate the contracts so that the pension problems were only deferred until they were fatal, not dealt with when they were solvable. The result is that decisions made 10-20-30 years ago are killing the pensioners while management "solved" the company's contract problems and later got their own executive pensions. To me it seems that IBM is taking a more responsible, ethical, and perhaps even honest approach.