The rule of 55?

tmm99

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
Have you ever heard of the "rule of 55"? That you can withdraw money out of 401K if you are over 55 and no longer working (quit and retired or laid off and retired)?

Any gotcha's?

I think you are referring to the rule of 72t, which enables you to take equal payments from your pre-tax accounts. Search for 72t and you will find more info. Or some other replies may provide better details than I can, I am not an expert on it.

Have you ever heard of the "rule of 55"? That you can withdraw money out of 401K if you are over 55 and no longer working (quit and retired or laid off and retired)?

Any gotcha's?

Yes your SPD(Summary Plan Description) must allow for withdrawls at age 55, not all do. Some allow for withdrawls but limit the number. Get a copy from your HR or benefits department.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Early Retirement Forum mobile app

I think rbmrtn references the right thing: you can take withdrawals penalty-free from a 401(k) type plan if you leave employment in the year you turn 55, but the employer has to allow it.

Such withdrawals are not allowed from a 401k originating with an employer for which you stopped working before age 55.

It's such a well-known feature of many 401(k) plans that pretty much the entire early-retired kingdom knows about it. The OP must live in another kingdom.

It's such a well-known feature of many 401(k) plans that pretty much the entire early-retired kingdom knows about it. The OP must live in another kingdom.

Well, it is kind of confusing...

I've learned a lot here - that's why a person asks!

Ya know, Steely, some people were born knowing everything. The rest of us have to ask. ;)

+1. You beat me to it.

I feel sorry for people who must carry the burden of perfection on their shoulders, while we mere mortals scrape by as best we can.......

you generally have to "retire" at 55