The Safe Water Reservoir: (SWR): An analogy?

Zorba

Recycles dryer sheets
A mining town on the edge of the desert has built a dam to hold the
water it needs to survive. Each year the rains come. In some years
the rainfall is enough to replenish the reservoir, but in other
years evaporation depletes the water level. How much water can
the town draw from the reservoir each year to be reasonably certain
of not running it dry?

Analogies can be useful. They help us identify the essential elements
in any problem. Would the SWR experts here have a look at this toy
model and tell me what what is common and what is missing?

Zorba

Hmmm...
I smell a troll. zorba ~ hocoloco?
No. Not even close. I appreciate that everyone is on red alert these days
but you have just found the fastest way to chase away new contributors to
this board! I'm interested and I'm a newbie so please be gentle ;)

I am trying to get some intuitive understanding of what the main factors
are in a SWR. Backtesting (with historical data) or simulation (via
Monte Carlo modeling) don't do it for me.

What if a bunch of people urinated in the reservoir?

Zorba:

I will give you the benefit of the doubt re: the troll issue.

FWIW, I think that the analogy you proposed is reasonable. The chief holes in it are:

- Every year the mining town's population grows by about 3%. If the reservoir isn't periodically expanded, eventually the annual rains won't come close to replenishing the water supply. I am referencing inflation risk here.

- The population of the town has the ability to attempt to influence rainfall amounts. If the town's attempts to boost rainfall are successful, ithe reservoir could receive much more than average annual rainfall. If they fail, the town could receive much less rainfall than required. I am referring to how much portfolio risk one can afford to take.