Join Early Retirement Today

Trad IRA RMD and Roth Conversion Strategies to Minimize Income Taxes
Old 04-14-2010, 03:22 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Trad IRA RMD and Roth Conversion Strategies to Minimize Income Taxes

Sorry... This is a long post because the topic is complicated. But it is worth a read!

I am studying a long-term tax strategy to optimize/minimize our income tax obligation. I am beginning to look into Roth conversions to try to understand how to deal with income taxes. One Issue that I am considering is the eventual RMD implications of a TRAD IRAs, 401ks, etc.

It is my understanding that a Roth IRA does not not require an RMD. Retirement Plans FAQs regarding Required Minimum Distributions

Has anyone considered how they are going to utilize a Roth Rollover to minimize the tax bite that might occur at 70 with TRAD IRAs, 401ks, etc?

The optimized strategy depends on one's situation and of course no one knows how future laws and tax structure may change the possibilities to minimize tax implications... But as they say Failing to Plan is Planning to Fail, so I am looking into strategies. The best I can do at this time is make some assumptions on the size of the account, inflation (increase in income level per tax bracket), and tax brackets.

I could not do this while DW and I were both working because of our earnings... We were constrained when DW was working because of our earning level and the limits on rollover based on income level. Now that DW is ERd and I am still working... I am in a high marginal tax bracket and any rollover would just push me into a higher bracket today.