Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Transition VG accounts
Old 11-29-2017, 04:59 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,643
Transition VG accounts

Got an email urging me to do it by Jan 6 to their new brokerage platform.

Advantages for me are suppose to be:

Quote:
By transitioning your account, you'll:
Help us provide you with a more streamlined service experience.
Gain fast, commission-free transactions for all your Vanguard investments.*
Increase your investment choices to include not only Vanguard mutual funds but also ETFs (exchange-traded funds), stocks, bonds, CDs (certificates of deposit), and mutual funds and ETFs from other companies.

Take advantage of this offer by January 6 to enhance your investing experience at Vanguard!
Anyone else biting?

I don't anticipate buying non-VG funds, just keeping my Admiral shares in my Flagship account.
__________________

explanade is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-29-2017, 05:01 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8,566
I've procrastinated for about 2 years and still procrastinating.

Happy with just funds so don't need to make more work for myself.
__________________

__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 05:15 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
walkinwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,769
I did the transition earlier this month and it was painless. Took one business day.

But if you don't have a brokerage account already, I don't see the need till they force you to do it.
walkinwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 05:17 PM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,643
Do you need a brokerage account even just to buy VG ETFs?
explanade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 05:27 PM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1,793
I did this for my MIL. Easy & painless.
Scuba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 07:11 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RunningBum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,912
You'll get two sets of tax forms in the year you convert. Somewhat confusing unless they've improved the process.
RunningBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 07:40 PM   #7
Recycles dryer sheets
VanWinkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Brighton
Posts: 469
You can say "I am going to call my Broker" after you have it converted to a brokerage account. That sounds much more sophisticated than I am calling Vanguard.

I started with a brokerage account so I don't know the difference.

VW
VanWinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 07:46 PM   #8
Full time employment: Posting here.
racy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 518
Just did it last week. Painless. I figure I'll do my share to keep costs down (as VG claims it will do).
__________________
The Big Lebowski: Are you employed, sir?
The Dude: Employed?
racy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 08:47 PM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6,423
I'm already there. My w*rk was in this industry and you don't want to be last to convert.

IIRC Vanguard has two systems that do basically the same thing for most investors. The old system is being retired(we can all appreciate that!) due to technology obsolescence. At some point in time the conversion won't be voluntary it will be mandated.

It's better to be in the voluntary group! When it's mandated you have no ability to complain.

Along the way you(technology providers) start to enhance the new system first, stopping enhancements to legacy systems. In the industry, one big costly event is tax reporting. Happens every year and it's required, even if nothing changed in regulations, something changed. At some point the IT resources will have their priorities adjusted to support the new system first. You don't want to be there.
MRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 09:49 PM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Sunset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Spending the Kids Inheritance and living in Chicago
Posts: 5,518
Did it a year or 2 ago.
I like that everything is in one place, just like other brokerages.

Just don't do it within days of needing to rebalance/sell/buy something as I think for me it took 2 days.
Sunset is offline   Reply With Quote
Transition VG accounts
Old 11-29-2017, 11:05 PM   #11
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: MSP
Posts: 281
Transition VG accounts

Quote:
Originally Posted by easysurfer View Post
I've procrastinated for about 2 years and still procrastinating.

Happy with just funds so don't need to make more work for myself.

Yep. Don't need no stinkin' streamlined user experience. Heck, the Luddite in me even complains that my Vanguard app now opens with "My Feed" rather than just going straight to my accounts overview. Don't need no stinkin'......
UpAnchor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 04:34 AM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,918
I don't need a brokerage with VG, since there is one at Schwab already. So, I've been waiting to be forced into it. We don't need 4 additional funds for sweep.

When we consolidate after next year, VG might get a smaller piece of our investing pie. I must be a Luddite.
target2019 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 05:52 AM   #13
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Atlanta suburbs
Posts: 499
Quote:
Originally Posted by easysurfer View Post
I've procrastinated for about 2 years and still procrastinating.

Happy with just funds so don't need to make more work for myself.
+1
DEC-1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 12:16 PM   #14
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
walkinwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,769
The downside of waiting to be forced into it, is that there is a chance that the system will be overwhelmed and you'll have issues and long waits for technical help.

..but you know that.
walkinwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 12:36 PM   #15
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,104
We (me, wife, two sons) have a total of six Vanguard accounts. Three are full brokerage, other three or mutual funds only. Five of the six are retirement accounts with very few changes taking place.

At this time, I don't see any advantage to us to make the change so have been in no hurry. We did convert one of the accounts (son's Roth IRA) as it simplified the statements and record-keeping. Painless.
RE2Boys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 10:59 PM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,643
Would converting affect the various tiered status you get for having a certain amount with them?

Also I just switched my DRIP to transfer (by ACH) to my checking account. Would transfers to external institutions be affected?
explanade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 12:40 AM   #17
Administrator
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eee Bah Gum
Posts: 22,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by explanade View Post
Would converting affect the various tiered status you get for having a certain amount with them?
I don’t believe so. I even removed my name from our joint account with them so that it was just in my wife’s name. Neither of us would have had Flagship status but the combined accounts meant we both retained our individual Flagship status.

Quote:
Originally Posted by explanade View Post

Also I just switched my DRIP to transfer (by ACH) to my checking account. Would transfers to external institutions be affected?
When I transitioned over to the Brokerage accounts the ACH bank details I use to transfer money in and out remained exactly the same.
__________________
Retired in Jan, 2010 at 55, moved to England in May 2016
Now it's adventure before dementia
Alan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 09:18 PM   #18
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Cape Canaveral
Posts: 93
Hmm I too only hold 4 different vanguard admiral funds and dont see why I would need to do this.

I will talk to my guy next week when I do the annual rebalance.
shasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Transaction History Retained After Conversion?
Old 12-11-2017, 09:27 PM   #19
Dryer sheet aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 38
Transaction History Retained After Conversion?

For those that have already converted to the combined account, do you still have all the transaction history information for the old account/accounts?
RetiredAt55.5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 10:48 PM   #20
Administrator
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eee Bah Gum
Posts: 22,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetiredAt55.5 View Post
For those that have already converted to the combined account, do you still have all the transaction history information for the old account/accounts?
Yes.
__________________

__________________
Retired in Jan, 2010 at 55, moved to England in May 2016
Now it's adventure before dementia
Alan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reader --> Poster transition UVaOK Hi, I am... 6 03-06-2006 09:48 PM
Company Stock Transition to Diversification MDW FIRE and Money 17 07-02-2005 08:50 PM
Transition Plan Needed RockMiner Other topics 4 10-28-2004 05:10 PM
72t Early withdrawl strategy for career transition Ron Huggins FIRE and Money 15 06-20-2004 02:35 AM
transition to retirement portfolio Martha FIRE and Money 23 03-14-2004 11:42 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:55 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.