Join Early Retirement Today

TSP (401K) conversion to Roth IRA
Old 04-15-2012, 03:52 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

TSP (401K) conversion to Roth IRA

Hey everyone...I've been doing quite a bit of research on this lately and wanted to get the board's opinion:

I retired from the Air Force back in May of 2011. Since that time, I've been a full time student...only collecting my taxable retirement check while enjoying the tax free benefits of the G.I. Bill. Between my pension and V.A. Housing Allowance through the G.I. Bill, I don't have to work. Here are the numbers I'm crunching to decide whether to convert or not:

Total contributions to TSP: $69,555
Current amount of TSP: $92,500
Tax Exempt amount: $6,375
Amount to convert: $86,125
Current Age: 42
Age at retirement: 57 (when I would LIKE to stop working)
Current Marginal Tax Rate (2011 Tax Return): 15%
Current Effective Tax Rate (2011 Tax Return): 6%

(My Marginal Tax Rate has been 15% for as long as I can remember...)

Since my tax rates are so low right now, and I will continue to be a full-time student until October of 2012, does it make sense to convert now? I would pay the tax out of a savings account so I don't have to touch the TSP amounts. I've been thinking about this because I figure my "next job" could very well bump me up into a higher tax bracket when adding in my pension. For the record, I live in Florida and pay no state income taxes.

Your thoughts? Is there any other information I need to include for a more informed opinion?

Also, can you do a conversion ANY time during the year? Or do you have to do it before the April 15th deadline?

Thanks in advance!

James
jimbohoward69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!