Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2008, 08:59 AM   #41
Moderator Emeritus
Bestwifeever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 16,375
I use Turbo Tax to do three returns for family members (buying the software at Office Depot, but filing online). This past year when we filed them, I was wondering when TT would limit the number each purchase/license would allow (didn't realize 5 were allowed). So I'm not surprised at the development to allow only one filing.

But Intuit shouldn't be too surprised when we stop using TT as a result and go to a cheaper option.
__________________

__________________
Bestwifeever is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-03-2008, 09:12 AM   #42
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by youbet View Post
Are there any non-TT packages that will import TT last years data into this years return from my HD? For example, will this years Tax Cut import data from last years TT?
youbet, Tax Cut says they can import Turbo Tax files. I know for sure that they could a year or two ago, when I switched.

Coach
__________________

__________________
Coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 09:19 AM   #43
Recycles dryer sheets
BigBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sebring
Posts: 190
Looks like I will be switching from TT to TC. Hopefully the import process will get all of the information from TT, as I do not need an audit at this point in my life.
Hmmm... would I ever need an audit??
__________________
BigBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 11:58 AM   #44
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
OAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central, Ohio, USA
Posts: 2,598
IMHO you cannot beat this price. File 1040 & 1040ez tax forms - TaxACT 1040 Tax Form Filing
The FREE version is just that and it will work to completely file your return - you can file as many as you want FREE. Just uninstall (after saving the data file) the program and then reinstall for the next return. Or you can go a bit higher and pay for the program. Also note the bottom of this screen for 1120's and 1120S's. I have used this program for about the last 8 years without any problem. My DD used it to file a couple of years now with a pretty complex return (several K-1's, multiple employers, Schedule D's, etc.,). I am an old accountant (besides being an OAG) so I can verify the returns as accurate. I usually only do my return for the neatness of the final product.
__________________
Vietnam Veteran, CW4 USA, Retired 1979
OAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 12:12 PM   #45
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
FIRE'd@51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by OAG View Post
Just uninstall (after saving the data file) the program and then reinstall for the next return.
Do you actually have to uninstall/reinstall the program, or could you just move the data files to another folder, and do another return?
__________________
FIRE'd@51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 12:28 PM   #46
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,211
Would someone please tell me if you can use Turbo Tax to play "what if"
without paying for each trial?

I recall that Turbo Tax provides a bottom line "tax owed" output as you
progress through the input screens. It seems to me that one could alter
inputs all you wish and see the tax impact.

I suppose that once you complete the report and print the output then you might not be able to start a new return without paying an additional fee.

It seems awkward but doable. Please comment if you know a better way or if my approach won't work.

Thanks and Cheers,

charlie
__________________
charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 12:49 PM   #47
Moderator
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rocky Inlets
Posts: 24,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie View Post
Would someone please tell me if you can use Turbo Tax to play "what if"
without paying for each trial?

I recall that Turbo Tax provides a bottom line "tax owed" output as you
progress through the input screens. It seems to me that one could alter
inputs all you wish and see the tax impact.

I suppose that once you complete the report and print the output then you might not be able to start a new return without paying an additional fee.

It seems awkward but doable. Please comment if you know a better way or if my approach won't work.

Thanks and Cheers,

charlie
I suspect you can do all the "what if" you desire, you just won't be able to print for filing an additional return.

Michael
__________________
MichaelB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 12:54 PM   #48
Moderator
ziggy29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 15,613
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelB View Post
I suspect you can do all the "what if" you desire, you just won't be able to print for filing an additional return.
That is my understanding as well. The fee doesn't apply to all additional returns you prepare with the software -- just the ones you print or e-file. In other words, you can "what if" to your heart's content but you can only produce one return for filing without the $10 charge per additional return.
__________________
"Hey, for every ten dollars, that's another hour that I have to be in the work place. That's an hour of my life. And my life is a very finite thing. I have only 'x' number of hours left before I'm dead. So how do I want to use these hours of my life? Do I want to use them just spending it on more crap and more stuff, or do I want to start getting a handle on it and using my life more intelligently?" -- Joe Dominguez (1938 - 1997)

RIP to Reemy, my avatar dog (2003 - 9/16/2017)
ziggy29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 01:51 PM   #49
Moderator
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rocky Inlets
Posts: 24,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by ziggy29 View Post
In other words, you can "what if" to your heart's content
No matter how much I "what if", my heart's never content (when it comes to taxes, that is)
__________________
MichaelB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 01:59 PM   #50
Full time employment: Posting here.
friar1610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 824
Quote:
Originally Posted by youbet View Post
Are there any non-TT packages that will import TT last years data into this years return from my HD? For example, will this years Tax Cut import data from last years TT?
Yes; the one year I used Tax Cut it imported all the data from my previous year's TT.
__________________
friar1610
friar1610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 02:54 PM   #51
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
jIMOh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Milford, OH
Posts: 2,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie View Post
Would someone please tell me if you can use Turbo Tax to play "what if"
without paying for each trial?

I recall that Turbo Tax provides a bottom line "tax owed" output as you
progress through the input screens. It seems to me that one could alter
inputs all you wish and see the tax impact.

I suppose that once you complete the report and print the output then you might not be able to start a new return without paying an additional fee.

It seems awkward but doable. Please comment if you know a better way or if my approach won't work.

Thanks and Cheers,

charlie
I do this with TT online all the time. You pay to file. You don't actually have to save your what if return.
__________________
Light travels faster than sound. That is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak. One person's stupidity is another person's job security.
jIMOh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 10:09 AM   #52
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,288
So TurboTax is $55 plus $10 for each additional filing? I poked into Amazon - look at the customer reviews:

Customer Reviews
76 Reviews

5 star: (3)
4 star: (1)
3 star: (2)
2 star: (1)
1 star: (69)

Average Customer Review
(76 customer reviews)


I'm glad I switched to TaxAct a few years back, after TT had errors that they knew about, but provided no warnings or info. Took me weeks of trying this and that, and finally found an acknowledgment and 'band-aid' fix in their forums buried deep. TaxAct has been OK for me so far.

Tax Act is $12.95 for the on-line version, that gives one state and fed efile. For what ifs, you can either modify your return and print to pdf for that, or create a new one under a bogus name for free, but you need to re-enter the info.

I do the kids with the free version (I can do their state on-line through IL for no charge), it lets you print and efile the fed for FREE. The only thing it does not do is save the info for import the next year, but that is not a big deal with the kids.

Looks like Intuit is going to lose a lot of customers. I can't say that I'm sad, I really think they have lousy products.

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 10:32 AM   #53
Recycles dryer sheets
SteveL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 380
To do what-if in Turbo-Tax, open the forms window, and look for the what-if form. Open that form, and it will allow you to do up to three variations of your situation.
__________________
SteveL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 10:35 AM   #54
Moderator
ziggy29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 15,613
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERD50 View Post
So TurboTax is $55 plus $10 for each additional filing? I poked into Amazon - look at the customer reviews:

Customer Reviews
76 Reviews

5 star: (3)
4 star: (1)
3 star: (2)
2 star: (1)
1 star: (69)

Average Customer Review
(76 customer reviews)
That said, the vast majority of the people giving one star are doing it more as a statement about their new pricing policy and not the quality of the product itself.

I've been satisfied enough with the product -- I've used it for nearly a decade now, and for an Intuit Mac product it's not bad -- but the new pricing scheme has lost me as a customer.
__________________
"Hey, for every ten dollars, that's another hour that I have to be in the work place. That's an hour of my life. And my life is a very finite thing. I have only 'x' number of hours left before I'm dead. So how do I want to use these hours of my life? Do I want to use them just spending it on more crap and more stuff, or do I want to start getting a handle on it and using my life more intelligently?" -- Joe Dominguez (1938 - 1997)

RIP to Reemy, my avatar dog (2003 - 9/16/2017)
ziggy29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 10:17 PM   #55
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Following the nice weather
Posts: 6,439
It appears you can print as many copies of your one return as you want, which is better than what I thought they were doing. However, I was on the Intuit website researching a couple things and ran into an interesting issue. One user appears to have completed his return, printed it, then exited without saving it as the one return. When he went back to the file TT didn't recognize it as the accepted return (due to the no save) so he couldn't print it again. The file existed because he had saved it previously, but it appears there is a flag set in the file when you do the print. If you print, then exit without saving again, you are hosed. He was saying he's getting no love from Intuit in his attempt to resolve the problem.
__________________
"Good judgment comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement." - Will Rogers, or maybe Sam Clemens
DW and I - FIREd at 50 (7/06), living off assets
harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 06:04 AM   #56
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5,072
What happens if one needs to correct their tax return and reprint? It sounds like its time to avoid TT...

I have used both. For the last 4 years, I have used Tax Cut. IMO - it is not much different that TT.

I am not surprised... it was just a matter of time before intuit looked for ways to increase revenue.

Vote with your $... use software that does not charge by the return!
__________________
chinaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 01:38 PM   #57
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by harley View Post
It appears you can print as many copies of your one return as you want, which is better than what I thought they were doing. However, I was on the Intuit website researching a couple things and ran into an interesting issue. One user appears to have completed his return, printed it, then exited without saving it as the one return. When he went back to the file TT didn't recognize it as the accepted return (due to the no save) so he couldn't print it again. The file existed because he had saved it previously, but it appears there is a flag set in the file when you do the print. If you print, then exit without saving again, you are hosed. He was saying he's getting no love from Intuit in his attempt to resolve the problem.
Rumor has it that for Mac OSX users, it creates a file:

~/Library/Preferences/com.intuit.TurboTax.2008.plist

... which you can delete in order to defeat this nonsense. Not that
I'm advocating software fraud Nor have I tried this ...
__________________
RustyShackleford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 06:15 PM   #58
Recycles dryer sheets
thefinancebuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by chinaco View Post
I have used both. For the last 4 years, I have used Tax Cut. IMO - it is not much different that TT.

I am not surprised... it was just a matter of time before intuit looked for ways to increase revenue.

Vote with your $... use software that does not charge by the return!
Exactly. I used both TaxCut and TurboTax before. Really not that much difference. Vote with your $$$. Indeed. If TaxCut sees what TT can get away with, it may follow suit. Let's try not to make that happen.
__________________
thefinancebuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 06:58 PM   #59
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Following the nice weather
Posts: 6,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by chinaco View Post
What happens if one needs to correct their tax return and reprint? It sounds like its time to avoid TT...

I have used both. For the last 4 years, I have used Tax Cut. IMO - it is not much different that TT.

I am not surprised... it was just a matter of time before intuit looked for ways to increase revenue.

Vote with your $... use software that does not charge by the return!
As long as you are printing the same file, even with corrected information, you should be OK. It's just if you start a new file, or if you accidently mess up your allowed file, then you are screwed out of luck.
__________________
"Good judgment comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement." - Will Rogers, or maybe Sam Clemens
DW and I - FIREd at 50 (7/06), living off assets
harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 03:58 PM   #60
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Tadpole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,174
Well I received my "Risk-Free TurboTax CD Try Before You Buy!" and tossed it in my dead bin. I can just see it - About the time you have entered a bunch of numbers, it says "Click here to buy before continuing" or "Click here to buy and download the 2008 tax laws". Ever got one of these? What does it do?
__________________

__________________
Tadpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
We were preparing for next year... Badger Hi, I am... 9 11-05-2008 08:14 AM
Stimulus Payment Schedule for Tax Returns Processed by April 15 CCdaCE FIRE and Money 13 04-13-2008 01:35 PM
TurboTax Basic vs. Turbo Tax Premier Geoffrey FIRE and Money 20 01-20-2008 01:15 AM
Investors' actual returns versus total returns JohnEyles FIRE and Money 0 11-14-2006 01:20 AM
Preparing for this retirement! Mwsinron Other topics 7 08-22-2006 09:39 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:18 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.