Use Tax Saver Credit during early retirement?

Forrest

Dryer sheet wannabe
I was reading up on the Tax Saver Credit What Is the Tax Saver's Credit? | eHow.com
and while my AGI is too high to qualify while I'm working, I'm wondering if I could use this after I early retired (in my 50's)? I plan on living off CD's during my early retirement and during this period the only income would be my wife's pension which she is collecting now. I studied IRS Publication 590 and it seems she could divert $1K to $2K per year towards a traditional or Roth IRA and this number would come right off my taxes. Am I reading this right? Anyone currently taking this credit while in early retirement?

You cannot contribute to an IRA unless you have earned income and a pension does not count.

I was playing around with TaxCaster and it looks like I could get a tax credit of $5850 from the IRS, but ....

I would get $1000 for tuition credit and $4850 from something else. I needed $16,000 of earned income to get that amount.

Anyways, I will have to confirm with TurboTax.

My husband retired in 2010 and I have a part time job.

I looked into using this for 2011. DH's income will be all pension and that pension amount will offset any contributions coming from my income. So this will not work for us.

This was not clear in the instructions for the IRS Form 8880, it's kind of hidden in the fine print. Line 4 certain distributions includes Trad and Roth IRAs, 401K, 403B, governmental 457, 501C18D, SEP, SIMPLE plans.

Either you or your wife have to have EARNED INCOME and her particular type of pension has to not be the kind that offsets a current IRA contribution.

DHs pension is a public employee pension and that counts against any IRA contribution from my earned income.

I researched what I could online and played with a few tax calculators and a 1099-R with box 7 Distribution code =7 (normal distribution) caused the Savers Credit to not be available.