Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Vanguard Flagship
Old 12-11-2014, 05:52 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Austin
Posts: 495
Vanguard Flagship

So my account balances at Vanguard have been in the "two comma club" for some time now, and I noticed that my account was still classified as "Voyager".

I sent a message to them last Friday, asking why my account was not Flagship status.

Today, I get a response from them with the following statement (below).

Seriously? I have to point it out to them and then it takes them "a few weeks" to confirm it?


"Since you indicated that you meet the criteria for becoming a Flagship
client, we have forwarded your request to Flagship's Enrollment Team. If
enrolled, you will be contacted in a few weeks by the Flagship
representative assigned to you."
__________________

__________________
ER'd 6/1/2014 @ age 53. AA=70/30, WR=3%
Looking4Ward is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-11-2014, 06:17 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Colorado Mountains
Posts: 2,136
I bet Edward Jones wouldn't be so rude. I hear they even give you a birthday card!
__________________

__________________
Hermit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 06:24 PM   #3
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 103
What is so great about Flagship status that makes you want it right now?
__________________
zesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 06:40 PM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by zesty View Post
What is so great about Flagship status that makes you want it right now?
Come on, do you really want to ride on the Nina or the Pinta when you could be in the champagne room of the Santa Maria?
__________________
soupcxan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 07:21 PM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: E. Wash
Posts: 1,057
Just another example of Vanguard's "administrative excellence"
__________________
nwsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 07:24 PM   #6
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Austin
Posts: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by zesty View Post
What is so great about Flagship status that makes you want it right now?
So I can rub elbows with the elite? Emblazon the logo on my polo jersey?

Seriously, I was looking into the specifics of getting the TT software this year, saw the "perk" (if you can call it that) breakdown of the different tiers, and then realized that my account wasn't classified as such.

It wasn't because I thought it was great or that anything made me want it right now, I just wanted to be correct in the same sense I would want to point out that they had my phone number or other information wrong.

Wouldn't have thought anything else about it except that their reply really seemed unusual.
__________________
ER'd 6/1/2014 @ age 53. AA=70/30, WR=3%
Looking4Ward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 07:28 PM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
photoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,301
Are all your funds in vanguard MF or ETFs? they don't count dollars in other fund company products.
__________________
photoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 07:31 PM   #8
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Austin
Posts: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by photoguy View Post
Are all your funds in vanguard MF or ETFs? they don't count dollars in other fund company products.
100% Vanguard.
__________________
ER'd 6/1/2014 @ age 53. AA=70/30, WR=3%
Looking4Ward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 07:46 PM   #9
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 510
You're not alone - had to tell them when my accounts hit admiral, and when I crested the flagship requirements. Maybe things are different when you hit Flagship Select
__________________
fritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 08:16 PM   #10
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 892
I've read that they automatically change your status at the end of the quarter and if you want it sooner you have to contact them. Not sure if it's true or not, but it would make sense.
__________________
Eat, Drink and Be Merry.
tulak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 08:32 PM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,616
That's funny about getting TurboTax (TT) for free just because one is Vanguard Flagship. Over on the bogleheads forum, lots of folks got TT free just because they are bogleheads even if they had no money at Vanguard.
__________________
LOL! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 08:34 PM   #12
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 202
After rolling over my 401k last month, I'm flagship I guess? But is it noted somewhere? My contact at Vanguard is setting me up with free senior financial advisor to do an entire plan for me at no cost, including expenses, running projections, etc. She said it was due to my assets. Where can I look to see if there are any other perks?

Sent from my KFJWI using Tapatalk
__________________
Debinnov a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 08:36 PM   #13
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Austin
Posts: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by LOL! View Post
Over on the bogleheads forum, lots of folks got TT free just because they are bogleheads even if they had no money at Vanguard.
How?
__________________
ER'd 6/1/2014 @ age 53. AA=70/30, WR=3%
Looking4Ward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 08:38 PM   #14
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Looking4Ward View Post
How?
I saw there was a glitch for a few hours on the TT website, looked like it gave everyone Premier for $10. It wasn't restricted to just people at Bogleheads, though.
__________________
zesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 08:43 PM   #15
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,262
I was told that you had to have the balance in Vanguard funds.... IOW, if you have a brokerage account that does not count if you are investing in individual stocks or ETFs....


Another is that you have to be above for awhile... IOW, the day you pass the $1 mill mark is not the day you get in.... you could go below the next day... they want to see that you are over and will stay over...
__________________
Texas Proud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 10:09 PM   #16
Recycles dryer sheets
Snidely Whiplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Proud View Post
I was told that you had to have the balance in Vanguard funds.... IOW, if you have a brokerage account that does not count if you are investing in individual stocks or ETFs.
Correct.
__________________
"Adversity does not build character, it reveals it." - James Lane Allen
Snidely Whiplash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 10:32 PM   #17
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
photoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Proud View Post
I was told that you had to have the balance in Vanguard funds.... IOW, if you have a brokerage account that does not count if you are investing in individual stocks or ETFs....
I would hope that they include vanguard ETFs in the brokerage account. Otherwise I'm never getting to flagship (Not that flagship is so great or anything).
__________________
photoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 10:47 PM   #18
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by photoguy View Post
I would hope that they include vanguard ETFs in the brokerage account. Otherwise I'm never getting to flagship (Not that flagship is so great or anything).
From Vanguard's website:

Quote:
We determine eligibility by aggregating assets of all qualifying accounts held by the investor and his or her immediate family members who reside at the same address, including investments in Vanguard mutual funds, Vanguard ETFs®, certain annuities through Vanguard, The Vanguard 529 Plan, and certain small-business accounts. Assets in employer-sponsored retirement plans for which Vanguard provides recordkeeping services may be included in determining eligibility if the investor also has a personal account holding Vanguard mutual funds. Vanguard ETFs and Vanguard mutual funds held in a Vanguard Brokerage Account are also included when determining a household's eligibility;
__________________
FIREd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 11:25 PM   #19
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
NW-Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19,403
I don't know if Schwab still has this offer, but a few months ago I saw their offer of $2500 cash if you deposit or move $1M into an account with them. That's more than the price of TT.

They also have ETFs that have zero trading fees, some even with lower expense ratios than those of Vanguard ETFs or MFs.
__________________
"Old age is the most unexpected of all things that can happen to a man" -- Leon Trotsky
NW-Bound is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 12:01 AM   #20
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,152
There is not much benefit for moving from Voyager Select to Flagship.

I love Vanguard but I will probably never get Flagship because none of the following that I have will count toward the limit:

* Bonds held at Vanguard but in Treasuries, TIPs and Brokered CDs.
* Non-Vanguard ETFs/Funds held at Vanguard
* I keep some assets at Schwab for diversification
* I keep some assets in Bank CDs
* I-bonds don't count
__________________

__________________
kramer is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fidelity Private Client Gr vs Vanguard Flagship Lazyfabs FIRE and Money 31 04-01-2014 05:08 AM
Any good experiences dealing with Vanguard Flagship Services twolfy FIRE and Money 31 02-24-2013 02:54 PM
My Vanguard Flagship Services Rep Changed easysurfer FIRE and Money 36 11-23-2010 07:59 AM
Flagship Status at Vanguard Corporate ORphan FIRE and Money 11 09-28-2010 05:12 PM
Opinions of free consultation and financial plan offered by Vanguard Flagship NatureNut FIRE and Money 10 06-14-2008 11:20 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:42 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.