Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Vanguard "Links" to other non-VG Accounts?
Old 01-10-2010, 09:22 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Two Harbors
Posts: 54
Vanguard "Links" to other non-VG Accounts?

I used to have a link on my Vanguard web site to my accounts at TD Ameritrade. For awhile it worked and then I believe there was some trouble (maybe when TD and Ameritrade consolidated). I would like to re-establish such auto links but they do not appear to be available any more?

Is there any way (other than entering individual assets mannually) to set up a link on VG site so it will bring in current values from other brokerage accounts...like TD Ameritrade? Sure would improve info on VG to have it consolidate.

Thanks in Advance...TomCat
__________________

__________________
TomCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-10-2010, 11:31 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,616
Answered today on Bogleheads when you asked the question there: Bogleheads :: View topic - VG Links to other non-VG accounts?
__________________

__________________
LOL! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 07:22 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,321
I read the bogglehead thread on this topic and then went to my Vanguard account to see what was going on. I had used the linked outside account function for several years but had stopped bothering with it after TR Price and other institutions changed their login procedures and the auto updated stopped working for those accounts. In the meantime I had opened a Discover Bank savings account and shifted my Vanguard MM funds there.

I decided to try to add the Discover account as a new linked account with auto update. Using the update account profile link I was able to add the account in a few minutes. After doing a "refresh all", the new account showed up under accounts and activity.

Then I tried updating the login info for the TRPrice accounts that had stopped being updated. Again this took a few minutes and after refresh these showed up as well.

I don't know why the OP had the difficulty he reported but it looks like it is working just fine now for me.
__________________
grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 09:37 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,616
The clue is in the OP: "maybe when TD and Ameritrade consolidated". I think our TDWaterhouse account numbers changed at that time.
__________________
LOL! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 12:27 AM   #5
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 353
From security perspective, I would think it's not a good idea to link your accounts. Thieves breaking into your "main" one would have easier access to the other ones.
__________________
smjsl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 05:15 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Dawg52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central MS/Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 7,435
I'm having problems with the same thing at Fidelity. At one time it worked, but not now. Talked to a guy there today that said there was a bug in the software, but I could manually input the dollar value and leave off the link and it would add it all up that way. Whoop-de-do. Probably not a good idea having acct number info at another site as smjsl said.
__________________
Retired 3/31/2007@52
Full time wuss.......
Dawg52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 09:44 PM   #7
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 63
It works fine for me, I have been using it for several years.
__________________
tsturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 07:22 AM   #8
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Two Harbors
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsturbo View Post
It works fine for me, I have been using it for several years.
Thanks...I got mine working with the help of a VG customer service rep. HAd to go through the process of addingg one share of some stock "manually" and then could add the accounts...later delete the share you started with. I suggest calling and getting assistance...not intuitive...TomCat
__________________

__________________
TomCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody using "ATM fee reimbursement" accounts with Fido/VG ? Delawaredave5 FIRE and Money 23 08-15-2008 02:49 PM
People are cashing out their retirement accounts to pay for "emergencies" JustCurious FIRE and Money 42 07-21-2008 05:59 PM
"Volatile" URL links kaneohe Other topics 8 06-29-2008 01:49 PM
Do Vanguard Target Retirement funds need to be "juiced up"? Dude FIRE and Money 16 02-11-2008 09:18 PM
Vanguard Windsor Admiral on my plans "Watch List" Dude FIRE and Money 4 02-04-2007 12:03 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:19 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.