Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
vanguard safety
Old 06-24-2016, 07:58 AM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 17
vanguard safety

IF you did the Vanguard login safety measures did you go with needing an extra number just if it doesn't recognize your computer, or always needing an extra number whenever we you log in? I check Vanguard at least once a week and it would be a little bit of a pain to have my phone handy ever time, but I also want to be as safe as possible. what is your take?

thanks
__________________

__________________
Rushmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-24-2016, 08:13 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,885
I got my Vanguard login set up for 2FA, but not every time at my home computer.

This is the proper balance for me. If someone steals my password and tries to get in on his computer, the thief would still need my mobile to get in. But at the same time, having to enter extra numbers each sign in, at home, is too much overkill for me.

Nothing is fool proof. But I feel pretty safe with the different layers: 1) randomly generated password, 2) randomly generated challenge answers, 3) 2FA with mobile. Kinda like the end of "Get Smart" with all those closing doors .
__________________

__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2016, 11:01 AM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
2017ish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,845
+1. Same as easysurfer.
__________________
OMY * 3 2ish Done 7.28.17
2017ish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2016, 12:47 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by easysurfer View Post
I got my Vanguard login set up for 2FA, but not every time at my home computer.

This is the proper balance for me. If someone steals my password and tries to get in on his computer, the thief would still need my mobile to get in. But at the same time, having to enter extra numbers each sign in, at home, is too much overkill for me.

Nothing is fool proof. But I feel pretty safe with the different layers: 1) randomly generated password, 2) randomly generated challenge answers, 3) 2FA with mobile. Kinda like the end of "Get Smart" with all those closing doors .
Thanks - I did not realize that the 2-factor could be set up to only require it on a "away from home" computer. I also figured it was too much hassle to do every time, so I had not set it up. I will go ahead now.

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2016, 01:14 PM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Lsbcal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: west coast, hi there!
Posts: 5,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERD50 View Post
Thanks - I did not realize that the 2-factor could be set up to only require it on a "away from home" computer. I also figured it was too much hassle to do every time, so I had not set it up. I will go ahead now.

-ERD50
It's not just and an "away from home" computer but any other computer even in your house. So I could test this out easily by setting up my PC as the primary computer and then testing it by trying to login on my tablet with the 2FA code coming to my phone. Works nicely and a password manager like Lastpass helps the process along too.
__________________
Lsbcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2016, 01:26 PM   #6
Dryer sheet aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 36
Need the number only for an unrecognized device.

Keep in mind that they send an email confirmation for all transactions or changes to an account. If you add a new bank there's a verification process that takes a few days. If you change your address they wont let you make any withdrawals for 10 days I think.
__________________
upset264 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2016, 01:41 PM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,885
Yes, "unrecognized device" is a more accurate description than "away from home" computer. Though for me, I've only gone on Vanguard with my home PC, so that is my only recognized device. Though others may have other devices for access.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
vanguard safety
Old 06-24-2016, 01:58 PM   #8
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: MSP
Posts: 270
vanguard safety

Quote:
Originally Posted by ERD50 View Post
Thanks - I did not realize that the 2-factor could be set up to only require it on a "away from home" computer. I also figured it was too much hassle to do every time, so I had not set it up. I will go ahead now.



-ERD50

This is how I had done it, too. In fact I'd somewhat forgotten about it until I went to login from an unrecognized device and was unable. I guess that was my test.

So this for Vgd and the Symantec security token for Fido and I'm content for now.
__________________
UpAnchor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2016, 05:17 PM   #9
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,705
I use the feature all devices, each time.
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2016, 09:06 PM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Mulligan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by target2019 View Post
I use the feature all devices, each time.


I do too. Though I must admit, only out of ignorance. I didn't know you could negate the option on a computer. Oh well, phone is usually nearby anyways.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
Mulligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2016, 09:06 PM   #11
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by target2019 View Post
I use the feature all devices, each time.
+1
__________________
fritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 07:31 AM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mulligan View Post
I do too. Though I must admit, only out of ignorance. I didn't know you could negate the option on a computer. Oh well, phone is usually nearby anyways.
I believe in simplification, rote, one set of rules. It's a minor annoyance, as I always have the cell to grab the texted code.

I really prefer a token, as Schwab has given me. Maybe VG has that option. That is really simple, provide you have the token. Press the button and add the six digits to the end of you password.
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 09:30 AM   #13
Recycles dryer sheets
Rosie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 360
Just bear in mind that a recognized device (i.e., your main/home computer) can become "unrecognized" without warning due to a system or browser update, cookie expiration, or the like. Or if you use a different browser on the recognized computer.
__________________
Doing nothing is underrated.
Rosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 10:54 AM   #14
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Mulligan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by target2019 View Post
I believe in simplification, rote, one set of rules. It's a minor annoyance, as I always have the cell to grab the texted code.

I really prefer a token, as Schwab has given me. Maybe VG has that option. That is really simple, provide you have the token. Press the button and add the six digits to the end of you password.


Yes, Target...I need simplification and rote... That reminds me when I first set the answers to the security questions, I read they need to be unconventional answers to escape someone else getting lucky answering them. Well almost a year goes by before I need any human phone contact. They asked me name of my grandmother, and I gave it, and they told me the answer was wrong. I started getting annoyed as I told them I know who my grandmother is, certainly more than you do. Then I consulted my passcode book, and ooops... Forgot I got cute with the password! Sorry, agent, my bad...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
Mulligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 11:00 AM   #15
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mulligan View Post
Yes, Target...I need simplification and rote... That reminds me when I first set the answers to the security questions, I read they need to be unconventional answers to escape someone else getting lucky answering them. Well almost a year goes by before I need any human phone contact. They asked me name of my grandmother, and I gave it, and they told me the answer was wrong. I started getting annoyed as I told them I know who my grandmother is, certainly more than you do. Then I consulted my passcode book, and ooops... Forgot I got cute with the password! Sorry, agent, my bad...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

That's good to know the human on the other end stood pat and didn't cave no matter how well you know your grandmother .

Password managers are great for those cute or very difficult to guess challenge answers. Read somewhere that the best password (I'll add challenge answers too) are the ones you don't know. That's why mine are randomized.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 12:30 PM   #16
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Lsbcal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: west coast, hi there!
Posts: 5,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mulligan View Post
Yes, Target...I need simplification and rote... That reminds me when I first set the answers to the security questions, I read they need to be unconventional answers to escape someone else getting lucky answering them. Well almost a year goes by before I need any human phone contact. They asked me name of my grandmother, and I gave it, and they told me the answer was wrong. I started getting annoyed as I told them I know who my grandmother is, certainly more than you do. Then I consulted my passcode book, and ooops... Forgot I got cute with the password! Sorry, agent, my bad...
Do you have a security phone-in passcode? I would think that is all one needs when dealing with a VG rep.
__________________
Lsbcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 12:38 PM   #17
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Mulligan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lsbcal View Post
Do you have a security phone-in passcode? I would think that is all one needs when dealing with a VG rep.


Im not quite sure what that means so I suspect not. A code you punch in after calling them? I cant keep up with my passwords already. If I have opened up my 3 brokerage accounts a 1000 times, I have had to look at my spiraled index cards with my passwords a 1000 times, too.
Nothing sticks in the old noggin like it used to. Though I suspect if my Dad brought "the belt" out of a 40 year retirement, my ability to remember may improve better than I think it could!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
Mulligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 12:43 PM   #18
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Lsbcal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: west coast, hi there!
Posts: 5,676
It is a PW you set up verbally. Probably does not have to be as rigorous as a typed in PW. Could be handy if computer access is difficult.
__________________
Lsbcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 12:51 PM   #19
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Mulligan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lsbcal View Post
It is a PW you set up verbally. Probably does not have to be as rigorous as a typed in PW. Could be handy if computer access is difficult.


Probably a good idea LSB. But unfortunately change doesn't occur quickly around the Mulligan house. I just got my first ever smart phone last month. I remember getting my first smart phone about 8 years ago from work... Gave it to an underling, and switched him for his dumb phone. And you wonder why companies don't like to hire old people?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
Mulligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safety of HSA Funds in Vanguard TromboneAl FIRE and Money 1 03-12-2006 07:09 AM
Safety Deposit Box: Requires an account? OldAgePensioner Other topics 16 10-19-2005 10:47 AM
Safety Net Sharp21 Young Dreamers 4 01-23-2005 10:00 AM
Safety Margins Hyperborea FIRE and Money 28 08-09-2004 06:07 PM
Quest for yield verus safety unclemick FIRE and Money 49 11-13-2003 04:22 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:08 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.