Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Vanguard SP minimum
Old 02-15-2016, 06:15 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 55
Vanguard SP minimum

Hello, I have been maxing my roth IRA vanguard SP 500 account every year for the past 6 or so years. The shares changed from the standard SP 500 to the admiral shares after the first couple of years.

I want to purchase SP 500 from vanguard (to keep my accounts in one location) in a brokerage account. However, the minimum investment at Vanguard is $10,000. Will the amount of money I have in my IRA assist with me opening a brokerage account with SP500 to avoid the minimum investment? Obviously I'm trying purchase SP500 for less than $10,000. Based on what I have tried online in my account there isn't any way around the minimum. Will I be able to call them and arm wrestle?

I currently just have Vanguard Roth IRA with all SP500. And a money market fund for holding money until next years IRA, etc.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Tykimeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-15-2016, 06:30 AM   #2
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 356
The 10,000 minimum is only for the admiral shares, and you'd need to meet the minimum for each separate account in my experience.
I have S&P 500 in several different accounts, but did not get admiral shares in each of the accounts until I met the minimum in them.
__________________

__________________
NgineER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2016, 12:22 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,256
I have read your question a few times and I am not sure what you are really asking... more info needed...


You say you have money in an Admiral account... then talk about $10K... is that the amount you have in the S&P account?

Do you have more than this one account at Vanguard?

Are you planning to open up a brokerage account at Vanguard?

If so, then how much money are you going to be depositing for this brokerage?

Is this going to be IRA money or after tax money?


From what I am guessing, you do not have $10K sitting around to invest.... if this is so, then I do not think you can open the brokerage account (not sure of the minimum, but you say $10K).... But, if you do, there is NO requirement that you actually invest all the money... it can sit in a MM account.... you can invest the amount that you want to invest....
__________________
Texas Proud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2016, 01:11 PM   #4
Recycles dryer sheets
fosterscik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 182
OP - you're overthinking this. The annual difference in cost for $9,000 in investor class vs. admiral class is only $11 (0.12%). Calling Vanguard to try to get admiral status would not be a good use of my time to save $11. Once you hit $10,000 the investment will automatically switch to admiral.
__________________
fosterscik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 06:15 AM   #5
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 55
Ok, I think I didn't explain it right.

I have a roth IRA that consists of only SP500. The shares are not admiral shares of SP500 because the balance of the account met the requirement.

To open a brokerage account at Vanguard, it shows that you must have $10k as a minimum initial investment to purchase SP500. I could care less if they are admiral or not. I just want to purchase more SP500 but do not have more than $10k to throw in it right now.

I am currious if my balance in the roth IRA will assist me in opening a brokerage account at Vanguard to purchase SP500, even though I do not have $10k to put in it ( in = brokerage account).

Thanks,
Ty
__________________
Tykimeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 07:15 AM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
gauss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,708
If you like the Vanguard Brokerage account, have you considered performing a trustee-to-trustee transfer of the current Roth IRA from its current Mutual Fund ownership structure into a new Brokerage account?

-gauss
__________________
gauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 09:26 AM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kerrville,Tx
Posts: 2,710
Vanguard says that the minimum investment in the S&P 500 fund is 3k. The 10k involves the $20 fee for mail delivery of statements. It is 10k for admiral class. Now this is with direct purchase. Of course if your at some other broker you could just buy the ETF for (VOO) and get about the same expense ratio, with a minimum investment of 1 share. With vanguard brokerage for the etf which trades commission free the same is true.
__________________
meierlde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 09:30 AM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tykimeister View Post
Ok, I think I didn't explain it right.

I have a roth IRA that consists of only SP500. The shares are not admiral shares of SP500 because the balance of the account met the requirement.

To open a brokerage account at Vanguard, it shows that you must have $10k as a minimum initial investment to purchase SP500. I could care less if they are admiral or not. I just want to purchase more SP500 but do not have more than $10k to throw in it right now.

I am currious if my balance in the roth IRA will assist me in opening a brokerage account at Vanguard to purchase SP500, even though I do not have $10k to put in it ( in = brokerage account).

Thanks,
Ty

You still did not answer the questions that I asked.... so, with the info you gave...


The answer is no.


But why do you not just buy in your current account? Why open up a brokerage account?
__________________
Texas Proud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 09:58 AM   #9
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
redduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: yonder
Posts: 2,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tykimeister View Post

... on what I have tried online in my account there isn't any way around the minimum. Will I be able to call them and arm wrestle?...
Yes, you may call Vanguard. Might even be the best way to go about it.
__________________
Carpe cōleī
redduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 11:42 AM   #10
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 903
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tykimeister View Post
To open a brokerage account at Vanguard, it shows that you must have $10k as a minimum initial investment to purchase SP500. I could care less if they are admiral or not. I just want to purchase more SP500 but do not have more than $10k to throw in it right now.
Umm, no. Minimum to open a brokerage account is $0 (if you choose fund account later option). I think you may be selecting the wrong S&P 500 fund. The admiral shares (VFIAX) require $10k minimum for initial investment. You want the investor shares (VFINX) which only require $3k minimum initial investment. You can avoid the $20 fee by signing up for electronic delivery.

If you only have $1k to less than $3k to invest, the only options at Vanguard are the Target Retirement funds and the STAR fund. Lower than $1k and you'll need to go the ETF route (VOO)
__________________
hnzw_rui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 05:50 AM   #11
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 55
Thank you everyone for the input. It was very helpful.
__________________
Tykimeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 11:02 PM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,046
VOO (Vanguard S&P 500 ETF) has an expense ratio of .05% and is free to purchase in a Vanguard brokerage account, minimum purchase 1 share, under $200 right now.
__________________
jim584672 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2016, 10:38 AM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
redduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: yonder
Posts: 2,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tykimeister View Post
Thank you everyone for the input. It was very helpful.
Tykster, I hope that after you call Vanguard, you come back to this thread and post what you have learned.
__________________

__________________
Carpe cōleī
redduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vanguard Global Minimum Volatility Fund Brat Stock Picking and Market Strategy 0 04-15-2015 11:24 AM
Vanguard Slashes Minimum Investments on 27 Funds, Including Primecap rec7 FIRE and Money 1 05-11-2011 10:01 AM
Minimum risk real return?? test915 Hi, I am... 12 07-01-2005 01:32 PM
30 days - minimum wage cute fuzzy bunny Other topics 32 06-28-2005 01:40 PM
Minimum Income Tax/ Simple IRA ferco FIRE and Money 1 06-18-2005 08:15 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:08 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.