Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2019, 02:36 PM   #61
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
pb4uski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vermont & Sarasota, FL
Posts: 23,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by jollystomper View Post
Interestingly, I have an issue with Fidelity that I do not have with Vanguard. With Vanguard I can easily transfer money from a tIRA to a Roth IRA online. With Fidelity I have to call and have an agent do this. It will not let me do this online. So far all I have gotten from then is that my tIRA is in "the wrong type of account for online transfers", and nothing about being able to change it to the right type of account.
Maybe its like the airlines.... they all suck to varying degrees depending on the day.
__________________

__________________
If something cannot endure laughter.... it cannot endure.
Patience is the art of concealing your impatience.
Slow and steady wins the race.

Retired Jan 2012 at age 56...60/35/5 AA
pb4uski is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-06-2019, 02:38 PM   #62
Moderator Emeritus
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Flyover country
Posts: 13,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by jollystomper View Post
Interestingly, I have an issue with Fidelity that I do not have with Vanguard. With Vanguard I can easily transfer money from a tIRA to a Roth IRA online. With Fidelity I have to call and have an agent do this. It will not let me do this online. So far all I have gotten from then is that my tIRA is in "the wrong type of account for online transfers", and nothing about being able to change it to the right type of account.
I've done Roth conversions online at Fidelity many times. Been doing it for years.

Just an ordinary TIRA to an ordinary Roth. Maybe you have something different, like an inherited one?
__________________

__________________
I thought growing old would take longer.
braumeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 02:49 PM   #63
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
jollystomper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by braumeister View Post
I've done Roth conversions online at Fidelity many times. Been doing it for years.

Just an ordinary TIRA to an ordinary Roth. Maybe you have something different, like an inherited one?

No, this is my own tIRA, opened many years ago. Added a Roth IRA this year, when trying to transfer online get the message "you do not have any accounts you can transfer from". Called Fidelity, they said correct, we cannot set up your tIRA for online transfer to your Roth, you have to call whenever you want this done.

And I used to think everything was just a simple matter of programming...
__________________
FIREd date: June 26, 2018 - wwwwwwhat a rush!
jollystomper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 03:19 PM   #64
Moderator Emeritus
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Flyover country
Posts: 13,521
Do you see both accounts on your login page?

Have you taken your RMD for the year (if you're of the age)?

I just checked and the conversion option is still available to me.
Seems very strange and I would escalate the matter if I were you.
__________________
I thought growing old would take longer.
braumeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 04:00 PM   #65
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
jollystomper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by braumeister View Post
Do you see both accounts on your login page?
Yes, I can see all my account types without problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by braumeister View Post
Have you taken your RMD for the year (if you're of the age)?
I am not yet RMD age (61).

Quote:
Originally Posted by braumeister View Post
I just checked and the conversion option is still available to me.
Seems very strange and I would escalate the matter if I were you.
Yeah, I will... so far have only done a couple of transactions but I will be looking into this further (weather has been too nice to spend time on it ).
__________________
FIREd date: June 26, 2018 - wwwwwwhat a rush!
jollystomper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 01:59 PM   #66
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
John Galt III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,694
I finally got around to attempting the transition a few months ago and there were just too many hoops to bother with, one of which I think was needing to give them my cell phone number (or maybe that was Fidelity), which I didn't want to do. Gave up. So I'm one of the 'change resisters' now I guess, lol. May try it again soon, just to see if they made it easier.
John Galt III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 05:58 PM   #67
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 21,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by jollystomper View Post
No, this is my own tIRA, opened many years ago. Added a Roth IRA this year, when trying to transfer online get the message "you do not have any accounts you can transfer from". Called Fidelity, they said correct, we cannot set up your tIRA for online transfer to your Roth, you have to call whenever you want this done.

And I used to think everything was just a simple matter of programming...
This sounds familiar. I think the "opened many years ago" is key. I don't recall if I ever did anything about it, or just called a few times. I've converted all those old tIRAs to ROTHs, so no longer an issue for me.

-ERD50
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 05:58 PM   #68
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 444
I was able to so my SO's account pretty easily once she got the email. I had done mine some time ago.

Note that if you user Personal Capital that you may have double the accounts (new acct number). I deleted the old ones but lost that history. No big deal as I usually only look back a year.
eroscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 06:01 PM   #69
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 673
OP here. I just got a message in my Vanguard account from someone at Vanguard apologizing for all the trouble I had in the transition and that they are working to make it smoother. The message noted I had been with Vanguard for 27 years!
harllee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 06:13 PM   #70
Confused about dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Corvallis
Posts: 4
I've been avoiding upgrading my last IRA to brokerage because that would make my IRA total exceed the SIPC 500K protection limit. I don't know if it is any safer as a VG mutual fund account, but don't want to exceed the SIPC limit. I will probably move it to another house if VG forces me to convert.
reawilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 06:44 PM   #71
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 130
I'm surprised that people are having problems with this. We did it a long time ago and it was easy (ok they considered my IRA account transfer a taxable event/ distribution but they fixed that quickly)
RetMD21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 06:49 PM   #72
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by reawilliams View Post
I've been avoiding upgrading my last IRA to brokerage because that would make my IRA total exceed the SIPC 500K protection limit. I don't know if it is any safer as a VG mutual fund account, but don't want to exceed the SIPC limit. I will probably move it to another house if VG forces me to convert.
I'm no Vanguard fan, but don't make decisions based on incorrect assumptions. SIPC doesn't cover your Vanguard mutual fund account. It only covers securities held in a brokerage account. Also, Vanguard has supplemental SIPC insurance, as noted on Vanguard's website:

https://investor.vanguard.com/invest...unt-protection

Many brokerage firms purchase supplemental insurance.

Some basic SIPC info:

https://www.sipc.org/for-investors/what-sipc-protects
gwraigty is offline   Reply With Quote
To Transition or not to transition...That is the question
Old 11-12-2019, 07:45 PM   #73
Dryer sheet wannabe
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 13
To Transition or not to transition...That is the question

I've been getting those messages for well over 6 months now, to transition my account. I have a taxable mutual fund and a ROTH IRA.
I called asking a few questions, and long story short, either he didn't understand me, or vice versa, because he didn't know.

ANYWAY ~

The Vanguard Rep told me I don't really HAVE to transition my account if I don't want to, and it's only there to give me access to other types of investments like ETF's and such.

I told him I have no interest in doing anything except holding onto those two funds, and he told me not to worry, because they can't FORCE me to transition my account if I don't want those other services, so, I'm ignoring it.
The HalfBreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 11:04 PM   #74
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: MSP
Posts: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by pb4uski View Post
I have both Vanguard and Fidelity... I don't notice one being demonstrably better than the other in my experience.... everyone seems to be gaga over Fidelity's website and tools and I've used them and just haven't been very impressed... they're ok but nothing to get excited about.

I feel the same way. Vanguard’s website (and mobile app) tells me only what I need to know without the “busy-ness” of Fidelity’s. But then I’m just a simple mutual fund investor who doesn’t trade so I’m not surprised there are others whose opinions would differ. I’m more surprised at how often Fidelity’s is highly praised while Vanguard’s is disparaged.
UpAnchor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 11:19 PM   #75
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: MSP
Posts: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by The HalfBreed View Post
I've been getting those messages for well over 6 months now, to transition my account. I have a taxable mutual fund and a ROTH IRA.
I called asking a few questions, and long story short, either he didn't understand me, or vice versa, because he didn't know.

ANYWAY ~

The Vanguard Rep told me I don't really HAVE to transition my account if I don't want to, and it's only there to give me access to other types of investments like ETF's and such.

I told him I have no interest in doing anything except holding onto those two funds, and he told me not to worry, because they can't FORCE me to transition my account if I don't want those other services, so, I'm ignoring it.

Interesting, since I believe emails from Vanguard pushing me to transition have indicated that it “will” happen.
UpAnchor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 05:05 AM   #76
Dryer sheet wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 19
Just a word of warning. I did the brokerage conversion with Vanguard and then a year later tried to rollover a small portion of my IRA to Fidelity. Since the Vanguard was a brokerage account, Fidelity would not allow a rollover to another IRA and claimed I had to open a brokerage account IRA with them. I thought it was a fluke, but received the same response from Schwab.

I tried numerous times to open new IRA at other places and do a rollover, with no luck. I fixed my problem by rolling the entire amount into my 401k and will move it back to another fund family after retirement.

I don't know what the brokerage account does for me in Vanguard, but I know what a PITA it is if you want to move it out from Vanguard!
Paulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 06:12 AM   #77
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 380
Pardon my ignorance but what exactly is this "transition" you are all talking about?
meleana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 06:44 AM   #78
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
MRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by meleana View Post
Pardon my ignorance but what exactly is this "transition" you are all talking about?
From the old mutual fund only system to a brokerage system. It's been occurring since ~ 2016.
MRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 08:23 AM   #79
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 673
OP here, Vanguard says it is doing away with the old mutual fund system and wants everyone to "transition" to brokerage accounts. As far as I can tell it is being done for cost savings.
harllee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 09:08 AM   #80
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by harllee View Post
OP here, Vanguard says it is doing away with the old mutual fund system and wants everyone to "transition" to brokerage accounts. As far as I can tell it is being done for cost savings.
"Wants" or "requires"?

I'll linger around with the old mutual fund system until get ushered out. Not purposely being stubborn, but I have not need for a brokerage account. Happy with just mutual funds.

The transition for me is like someone saying I need an SUV when I'm totally happy with a subcompact car.
__________________

__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POLL: How much is too much? Silver Health and Early Retirement 25 05-20-2011 05:25 PM
If Too Much Time In The Gym Leaves You With Too Little Time For Your Honey, Try This haha Health and Early Retirement 14 08-27-2009 04:03 PM
How much is too much? yamasho Young Dreamers 13 06-11-2007 03:17 PM
how much is too much? SingleMomDreamer Young Dreamers 24 04-12-2007 10:44 AM
Too Much Money= Too Little Leisure? yakers FIRE and Money 11 02-07-2006 11:02 AM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:25 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×