Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2019, 05:00 PM   #21
Moderator
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by SecondCor521 View Post
... so I think it's more Vanguard-related than DNS-related....
Could very well not involve DNS at all, but the thought was that IF Vanguard was doing some server shuffling, oftentimes a DNS entry will be pointing to the old server until that DNS server's record times-out. I've been there, on the corporate end, and know that it's an inexact science because each DNS server kinds of does it's own thing with when the records expire and they go back to the main source to get a fresh record.
__________________

sengsational is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-02-2019, 06:11 PM   #22
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 3,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by sengsational View Post
Could very well not involve DNS at all, but the thought was that IF Vanguard was doing some server shuffling, oftentimes a DNS entry will be pointing to the old server until that DNS server's record times-out. I've been there, on the corporate end, and know that it's an inexact science because each DNS server kinds of does it's own thing with when the records expire and they go back to the main source to get a fresh record.
I'd like to think that a company as famous as Vanguard would know about this kind of problem and have practices in place to ensure at least five 9's of up time. But then again, I've worked for Fortune 500 tech companies that are still run with lots of Excel spreadsheets, so I dunno.
__________________

__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 07:22 PM   #23
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
ls99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,215
Miserably slow, can't even get login screen.
Bottom of screen says looking up c1a.vgscontent..... Maybe computergurus have a clue what that means.

Any other wedsite loads speedily.

Will try again tomorrow.

Edit add: Rebooted router, flushed DNS .... still NFG
I am in SW PA. MAybe a regional SNAFU
__________________
There must be moderation in everything, including moderation.
ls99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 07:26 PM   #24
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
pb4uski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vermont & Sarasota, FL
Posts: 23,622
I just logged on as I normaly do.... no issues at all. Snappy.
__________________
If something cannot endure laughter.... it cannot endure.
Patience is the art of concealing your impatience.
Slow and steady wins the race.

Retired Jan 2012 at age 56...60/35/5 AA
pb4uski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 07:35 PM   #25
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
MRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8,334
Been fast and easy all 5 times I logged in today. I did notice this morning I had no transaction history 0 rows since the beginning of my account? Tonight the data are back.

Something has changed. Glad I'm not getting not paid to go to work.
MRG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 08:45 PM   #26
Recycles dryer sheets
always_learning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by sengsational View Post
Best wait for DH, but for lurkers... if you go to "Apple > System Preferences > Network > WiFi > Advanced > DNS" you can add/change the DNS your system uses, but there might be something to do to flush the cache too.
Ah, that's not so bad. I peeked and if it comes to it, I can change my DNS info. I'm comfortable rooting around in Firefox's config stuff and other odd computer-y things, but I haven't had to mess with much system stuff beyond the usual cookie/cache clearing and downloading drivers.

In the interest of learning something new, why would changing my DNS do anything if only one website is giving me issues? If I change it to that 1.1.1.1 will it show that going forward or will it go back to what's there now once i start surfing the web? (I'm curious and DH isn't here to ask about this yet)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SecondCor521 View Post
I was experiencing various troubles with Vanguard's site last night. Chrome browser, Win8 laptop, Sparklight (formerly Cable One) DNS server. No problems with other sites, so I think it's more Vanguard-related than DNS-related. Also, usually no problem with Vanguard's site; it's just been in the last day or two.

ETA: Still having trouble now. Can log in but can't see my accounts. Annoyed but not worried.
Yeah, I was in around lunch time on Saturday and didn't have an issue. Since it's the only site giving me issues, I'm thinking it's them. Like you, I'm annoyed but not worried.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ls99 View Post
Miserably slow, can't even get login screen.
Bottom of screen says looking up c1a.vgscontent..... Maybe computergurus have a clue what that means.

Any other wedsite loads speedily.

Will try again tomorrow.

Edit add: Rebooted router, flushed DNS .... still NFG
I am in SW PA. MAybe a regional SNAFU
I was also wondering if it was regional, but I'm south of you in a different time zone.

Maybe we'll all wake up tomorrow and all will be well.
always_learning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 10:40 PM   #27
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 3,789
I think the idea behind trying a different DNS is that perhaps Vanguard has changed some of their IP addresses and those changes have propagated to some, but not all, of the DNS servers.

It's like you have a friend's cell number in your phone. That friend changes their number but neglects to tell you. You call their old number and can't get a hold of them. So you call a mutual friend Frank and ask him what number he has for your friend, and he says he has the same number as you. So you call another friend Jane, and Jane gives you the updated number, and then you can call the original friend.

In this analogy, Vanguard is your friend who kept their name (www.vanguard.com) but changed their number (IP address), and they told some DNS servers (Jane) but not others (Frank and you). For websites who haven't moved lately, they still have the same phone number (IP address), so you can still communicate with them via phone (browser).

I'm not sure I believe the theory, but it's plausible.

Depending on how you do it, if you change your DNS server to a different one, it'll either be a permanent change or a temporary change. You can always write down your current numbers or settings on a piece of paper and change back later if you want, although most commercial DNS servers work pretty well most of the time.

(And yes, I know DNS server is redundant. Get off my lawn.)
__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 10:53 PM   #28
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,458
DNS Server = Domain Name System Server.

OP problem now sounds like caching problem in gateway. That is ISP problem.
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 11:58 PM   #29
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 3,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by target2019 View Post
DNS Server = Domain Name System Server.
Learn something new every day. Thanks! (I always heard it was Domain Name Server, which is incorrect.)
__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 04:18 AM   #30
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by SecondCor521 View Post
Learn something new every day. Thanks! (I always heard it was Domain Name Server, which is incorrect.)
You've seen at least two of these in your IP settings, may be called Primary and Backup. Or confuse others by referring to NS1 and NS2. That would be Name Server 1, and so on.
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 07:00 AM   #31
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
ls99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by always_learning View Post
Ah, that's not so bad. I peeked and if it comes to it, I can change my DNS info. I'm comfortable rooting around in Firefox's config stuff and other odd computer-y things, but I haven't had to mess with much system stuff beyond the usual cookie/cache clearing and downloading drivers.

In the interest of learning something new, why would changing my DNS do anything if only one website is giving me issues? If I change it to that 1.1.1.1 will it show that going forward or will it go back to what's there now once i start surfing the web? (I'm curious and DH isn't here to ask about this yet)


Yeah, I was in around lunch time on Saturday and didn't have an issue. Since it's the only site giving me issues, I'm thinking it's them. Like you, I'm annoyed but not worried.



I was also wondering if it was regional, but I'm south of you in a different time zone.

Maybe we'll all wake up tomorrow and all will be well.
Vanguard is up and functioning fine this mrning.
__________________
There must be moderation in everything, including moderation.
ls99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 07:20 AM   #32
Recycles dryer sheets
always_learning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by SecondCor521 View Post
I think the idea behind trying a different DNS is that perhaps Vanguard has changed some of their IP addresses and those changes have propagated to some, but not all, of the DNS servers.

It's like you have a friend's cell number in your phone. That friend changes their number but neglects to tell you. You call their old number and can't get a hold of them. So you call a mutual friend Frank and ask him what number he has for your friend, and he says he has the same number as you. So you call another friend Jane, and Jane gives you the updated number, and then you can call the original friend.

In this analogy, Vanguard is your friend who kept their name (www.vanguard.com) but changed their number (IP address), and they told some DNS servers (Jane) but not others (Frank and you). For websites who haven't moved lately, they still have the same phone number (IP address), so you can still communicate with them via phone (browser).

I'm not sure I believe the theory, but it's plausible.

Depending on how you do it, if you change your DNS server to a different one, it'll either be a permanent change or a temporary change. You can always write down your current numbers or settings on a piece of paper and change back later if you want, although most commercial DNS servers work pretty well most of the time.

(And yes, I know DNS server is redundant. Get off my lawn.)
Thanks! It's getting clearer now. I still have a question or two about how that all works, so I'll bring them to Dh when I can catch him (he came home late last night and left early this morning). I don't want to clog the thread with more tech stuff.



Quote:
Originally Posted by SecondCor521 View Post
Learn something new every day. Thanks! (I always heard it was Domain Name Server, which is incorrect.)
Eons ago, I had a few computer classes, so I knew what it stood for at one point, but then promptly forgot. Use it or lose it. I thought it was 'something something Server'. Maybe I'll remember it after this practical discussion. And, watch.... I'll probably never need this knowledge again.



Quote:
Originally Posted by ls99 View Post
Vanguard is up and functioning fine this mrning.
Me, too.
always_learning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 07:30 AM   #33
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,458
An instructor may or may not have said server. Over periods of time the technical exactness of terminology morphs into what the public thinks. I think the words and acronyms are very important when training and troubleshooting.
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 07:30 AM   #34
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: chicago burbs
Posts: 729
Site is up and running ok for me now. Yesterday, I called Vanguard and the rep advised me that the site can get wonky and to give it a day or two. His comments were alot more techy than "wonky" .


Like some others, I'm kind of lost when the computer misbehaves.
__________________

golfnut is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vanguard website problems Lusitan FIRE and Money 15 09-18-2008 12:48 PM
Host a website myself or use a image storage website? WanderALot Other topics 18 04-11-2008 04:27 PM
Is Vanguard's website down? WanderALot Other topics 2 12-13-2006 06:16 PM
Vanguard Website Lancelot FIRE and Money 15 11-09-2006 09:16 PM
Is the Vanguard website down? retire@40 FIRE and Money 7 11-14-2005 04:06 PM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:58 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×