What do you think?

ARFF

Confused about dryer sheets
I'm 54 years old and want to retire in 2 years or less. I'm a former military veteran that is receiving a pension of about $2500.00 a month. I have been employed for the last 12 years in a govt job and will be able to collect another pension of approx $2000.00 a month in two years. I have another 5 years left on my mortgage at a payment of $2000.00 a month. I have approx $105,000 in a 457 plan and contribute the max I'm allowed for my age. I have another $80,000 or so in various investments and savings accounts. No other debts except mortgage at this time. Can I pull off the early retirement ? Flame away.

With $4500/mo in pension income I see no reason why you can't FIRE. However, you say nothing about your expenses. One person may be able to retire on less than $2000/mo while another may not be able to retire on $10,000/mo. You need to figure out what your expenses are going to be in retirement to determine if you can afford it.

I'm 54 years old and want to retire in 2 years or less. I'm a former military veteran that is receiving a pension of about $2500.00 a month. I have been employed for the last 12 years in a govt job and will be able to collect another pension of approx $2000.00 a month in two years. I have another 5 years left on my mortgage at a payment of $2000.00 a month. I have approx $105,000 in a 457 plan and contribute the max I'm allowed for my age. I have another $80,000 or so in various investments and savings accounts. No other debts except mortgage at this time. Can I pull off the early retirement ? Flame away.

Without knowing what your likely expenses will be in retirement, nobody can answer this question.

Run your numbers through FIRECalc...it's a great tool for retirement.

Normal month to month expenses such as, water, elec, cable etc. I'm thinking once my mortgage is paid off, I will invest most of that money into something to generate additional income. Any suggestions?