What Investment Tools and Resources Do You Use?

fredberry

Dryer sheet wannabe
I am always looking for new tools and resources that are free to help guide my short term tactical and longer term financial decisions. The following are ones I am currently using and would appreciate your sharing any that you have found to be valuable.

1. While not a day trader, I often sell cash-covered puts and covered calls on stocks with weekly options. Tools that I use include Yahoo financial (provides the most info per stock listed w/realtime quotes), MarketWatch, Seeking Alpha, Dividend.com and Ally.com (only brokerage I know that will provide realtime option quotes w/o funding an account).

2. Finviz.com is a powerful screening tool but is a bit complex for me and I don't use it as much as I could.

3. The most valuable weekly podcast I subscribe to and trust is financialsense.com. I have been listening to Jim Puplava and his featured guests for many years and have found his macro perspective of the worldwide financial markets to be spot-on. His free Saturday podcast is approx. 2 hours long and is one I listen to religiously every week. He also offers a few during the week that are also free and are topic specific, e.g., retirement, real estate, health, etc. I have found his podcasts to have another benefit and that is educating/informing my spouse and helping us arrive at consensus.

4. For my 'guerrilla investing' I like to focus on down beaten sectors with oversold stocks with very limited downside but with a good potential for breakout. Precious metals and oil are two that have worked well for me recently. Industry pundits that I use include Frank Holmes, Robert Rapier and David Morgan to name a few.

This posting turned out to be a little longer than I had planned but hope you get some value out of it. Looking forward to your comments and input.

Q: "What Investment Tools and Resources Do You Use?"

A: "A couch."