Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

What is a reasonable return?
Old 09-25-2009, 07:41 AM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.

What is a reasonable return?

I'm a newbie to investing.........newbie in the sense that after several years, I still don't get it. I've tried several investment companies as well as advisor and am told that my expected returns are unrealistic. Here in Canada I usually base my "expected returns" on what the TSX does in other words, beat the TSX by X amount. Is it wrong to pay an institution $15000.00 per year in hopes that they beat the TSX by a reasonable amount. Question, what is reasonable and how long a timeframe should they need to accomplish this..........couple year......a decade?
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-25-2009, 07:50 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

If you're paying someone $15,000 a year to manage your money, they'd better be "beating the market" with more than $15,000 extra return per year on average.