Join Early Retirement Today

What was it like going to work in the 60s, 70s and 80s?
Old 04-05-2015, 10:49 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

What was it like going to work in the 60s, 70s and 80s?

I graduated from college in the late 90s and have been in IT my entire career. However, I often wonder what did a typical desk look like without compupters. Of course, I remember the green and amber monitors and terminals from a mainframe before the PCs but what was there even before those?

The second question that I wonder about is with 50+ different IT areas of focus today (ERP, Infrastructure, Cloud, Web development, programming etc etc) where you see everyone and their cousin in IT these days what was the equivalent back then? Outside of doctors, lawyers, civil engineering what were the other professions everyone wanted to be in? Was it Sales, Marketing or something else, what was the office life like?

I guess part of the reason I'm wondering these things is what could I do if I were to switch careers from my high stress 24x7 IT management position to something else that allows me to leave work at work after 5pm and on the weekends. I guess I'm just feeling nostalgic and imagining a simpler life of the yester years.
dvalley is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!