Whatever happened to that vanguard dividend achievers fund?

cute fuzzy bunny

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I heard it was slated to launch in december, havent heard a peep since. Couldnt find anything on vanguards web site other than the original press release (and that wasnt super easy to find).

I called Vanguard back in December. They were very vague about the delay from the initial ETA. They basically told me just to wait, but wouldn't tell me about how long.

I heard some scuttlebutt a while back that they were having some trouble with the 'dividend achievers' term being a copyright or a trademark. Maybe they're working that out.

I hope not - I've been buying the book since 1993 and the price has gone up over the years -plus the 'marketing, PR and associated spin off's is in high gear' - I get the flyers - several products have rolled out in recent years.

Dividends are now in cycle - Wall Street never ever fails to feed the ducks.

Let's hope VG stays smart and 'cheap' - expenses wise.

I will let them use the Norwegian widow brand at a very competitive price.

heh heh heh heh

Well, if I were mergent, I'd have given vanguard enough positive greenlight in negotiations to get them to release their intent press release, then started to increase the costs for them to use the trademarked terms after they committed. I'm betting they're sitting at that impasse right now.

Going with the 'dividend achievers' brand probably draws the unclemicks of the world who have been longtime admirers of the strategy and plausibly buyers of the book and other tools and services. Good for vanguard to get instant brand appeal with a segment that probably isnt a big buyer of mutual funds. Not so good for mergent who sees brand expansion but may lose revenues. Go without the brand and its just another high dividend value fund and vanguard already has a boatful of those.