Join Early Retirement Today

Withholding in Retirement
Old 12-10-2017, 12:42 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Withholding in Retirement

Maybe a dumb question but this is my first year in retirement.

I’m thinking of doing a partial Roth conversion by the end of the year, but the tax liability would result in an under withholding penalty if I don’t get more money to Uncle Sam in time. What’s the easiest way to do this? An estimated tax payment? I certainly don’t want to withhold any of the IRA.

I worked until March so without the conversion I’m OK. Going forward, DW can withhold from her SS, I can withhold from my inherited annuity payments, etc. plus I figure I’ll probably be doing estimated taxes. I’m interested in the short term.

Thanks in advance.
GalaxyBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-10-2017, 12:58 PM   #2

One little trick some people use is to (if you can) withhold enough to cover everything including your Roth conversion right now.