"Your First Million is the Toughest" How long did it take you?

Milkman

Recycles dryer sheets
Motley Fool recently did an article titled "Your First Million Is the Toughest." Your First Million Is the Toughest
It talks about how long it takes to accumulate your first million, and then the second, and third, using the criteria of monthly savings and rates of return.

Recently there was a thread asking people if they had recently surpassed that major milestone. My question is; from the time you seriously started to save for retirement, how long did it take you to accumulate your first seven figures? I am in striking distance, but I have been working at it for 25 years. No windfalls, no stock options, just one paycheck at a time.

Milkman

I'm not quite there yet:

started in 1989, 12.5k in student loan debt. Like you, plugging away paycheck per paycheck, no options or inheritances.

Not quite 90% of the way there, but I do feel like I'm within striking distance. I hope the second one comes much faster !

- John

From my first real job, it took me (& DW) 14 years to save up 1M in 1998 dollars.

Since I seriously started saving: 4 years.

Started and sold a business in that time. Goes to show that sometimes its not necessarily the compounding that does it, although I'm counting on that to get me through the next 50 or so years.

Everyone is different, and (as I've said before) there isn't really much point in comparisons.

Indeed, if you see that others have accumulated $1 million much quicker than you, it may cause you to become impatient and perhaps start modifying your savings and investment strategy: which is counterproductive, more often than not.

Indeed, if you see that others have accumulated $1 million much quicker than you, it may cause you to become impatient and perhaps start modifying your savings and investment strategy: which is counterproductive, more often than not.
Or it could cause you to get off your butt and make some money.