6 Stages of Retirement

According to study by Robert Atchley, there are 6 or 7 stages of retirement...

They are:
1. Pre-retirement planning
2. Honeymoon, relaxation period
3. Disillusionment
4. Reorientation
5. Retirement Routine
6. Termination of retirement, old age
I have stopped work for only 18 months, but I had been working on/off, and part-time at that, for nearly 10 years before that. So, I kind of knew what full retirement would be like before I started.

I think my phases will be like this, where I will be alternating between phases 2 and 5.

1. Pre-retirement [-]planning[/-] :whistle:

while (forever)
{
2. Honeymoon :dance:
[-]3. Disillusionment
4. Reorientation[/-]
5. Retirement Routine :whistle:
if (terminal illness) break; :(
}

6. Termination of retirement :dead:

After 52 days in stage 2, I have no expectations of moving on to stage 3 any time soon (or at all). It helps that I started my retirement with a full list of things to do.

I signed up for a little very part time consultancy as part of my exit arrangement so I would have a transitional period rather than go cold turkey but have already concluded that I don't need it.

Life is good.:D

Congrats!

Last edited:
1. Pre-retirement [-]planning[/-] :whistle:

while (forever)
{
2. Honeymoon :dance:
[-]3. Disillusionment
4. Reorientation[/-]
5. Retirement Routine :whistle:
if (terminal illness) break; :(
}

6. Termination of retirement :dead:

Clearly, a SW programmer. I haven't programmed in years but mine would be something like ...

While OMY {
if
my_asset > 2M then retire (2M)
else
work (megacorp);
}

retire (int myasset) {
while (myasset > 1) {
honeymoon;
}
}

Last edited:
Yes, I programmed in assembly, Fortran, and C. Never web software but analytical software for simulation and analysis, and also embedded firmware.

And I also designed and built hardware including analog, digital circuits and RF circuits up to 2GHz.