Join Early Retirement Today

Another bad answer
Old 09-03-2005, 10:48 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Another bad answer

If you notice, the person asking the question never stated what his lifestyle was, yet based on income (not spending) the financial guy makes an assumption of what this doctor is going to need in retirement to maintain his current (unknown) lifestyle.* He could be living with his mother and spending $10K a year for what anyone knows.* He just wants to know where to put some additional savings.* He never asked what he will need in retirement.

Retirement-Savings Strategies for High Earners

By Stacey L. Bradford
September 1, 2005
QUESTION: I'm a 37-year-old physician with an annual income of about $500,000. I max out my 401(k) plan, and don't qualify for a Roth IRA. I'd like to make additional contributions to retirement savings, and have looked into using whole life insurance as an option for tax-deferred savings. Is that a wise idea, or should I look to more conventional investments options such as stocks, mutual funds or real estate? When is whole life a good investment, and how much should be invested in it?

ANSWER:
Maxing out a 401(k) is a great first step toward securing a comfortable retirement. For many people, however, it's not enough. Someone making $500,000 a year would need a nest egg worth $8 million to $10 million in today's dollars to maintain his or her lifestyle in retirement, says Harold Evensky, a certified financial planner based in Coral Gables, Fla.

http://yahoo.smartmoney.com/ask/inde...01&afl=myyahoo
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!