Join Early Retirement Today

Birding
Old 06-05-2006, 06:44 AM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.

Birding

Still working, but we try to find some peace and relaxation from time to time while we're still on the treadmill.

Anyone else interested in birding, putting up nest boxes, backyard bird feeding? [Between that, my Harley and some hiking, I'm actually developing a few minor hobbies again.] Here in TN, there is a large variety of beautiful and interesting birds. Even have an Eastern Bluebird currently incubating eggs in our first nest box. Neat.

I'm a rank amateur, just beginning to learn a bit. Seems like a fairly inexpensive hobby, with the exception of the bird seed. Sheesh ... they're eating better than we are. The cheap Home Depot / Lowe's seed looks lousy, but the Birds Unlimited Choice seed is nearly $18 per 20# bag. Any efficient alternatives out there?

For those interested in this avocation, how do you pursue? Equipment suggestions, trips, books, web sites ... ?

Thanks.
Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!