Join Early Retirement Today

Compromised Email Account
Old 01-23-2012, 06:22 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Compromised Email Account

This is long but I really need suggestions.

My main email webmail was compromised and I'm trying to figure out what happened and if I need to do anything more to make certain I don't have a keylogger on my computer. Here is the situation:

For years my main email has been one I set up using my own domain. That is, let's say my domain was fubar.com (it isn't -- just using it for example). My domain is hosted at godaddy. I don't use fubar.com for anything other than a domain name for my email. Through godaddy I have email set up and godaddy provides webmail if I want to long onto my email account on the internet. In practice, I very rarely use the webmail. I have a master email account at gmail and have my fubar.com email forwarded to gmail and I send mail from fubar.com using my gmail account. So I hardly ever log into the webmail account (maybe once a month or so when I want to get a confirmation or something that I don't want to wait for it to be forwarded to gmail).

So -- several weeks ago I found that emails to fubar.com were being returned as undeliverable. I tried to log into the webmail and couldn't and ended up deleting the mailbox (through godaddy) and setting up the account again. Everything seemed to work.

Then yesterday the same thing happened. This time I called godaddy who had me...delete the mailbox and set up back up. The tech support guy sent me a test email and asked me to respond to it.