First impressions just 5 days after ESR

Rich_by_the_Bay

Moderator Emeritus
First impressions barely into ESR - some may be honeymoon stage stuff, others may prove wrong, and others may prove to be true longer term. But these thoughts fade fast so I thought I'd throw them out there:

• Though this is a bustling city, the streets around us seem almost abandoned on week days.
  • We are lingering at the table more after meals.
  • An anticipated compulsion to call into the office to check on things never materialized. In fact, I have thought of work little this week.
  • Most envious (in a good-natured way) of all my friends so far are the other 3 guys in my golf group. But that's because they would play everday (I'm probably good for once or twice a week).
  • We want a dog again (3 years of dog-lessness).
  • Easter morning brunch party: "What kind of work do you do?" made me pause a second, then "I'm a doctor at Mount St. Elsewhere. [awkward pause] Actually I'm semi-retired as of last week."
  • I'm gonna need new clothes.

Rich, interesting that you still feel the need to define yourself as an MD when asked what you do. Would this be different if you were fully ER'd?

Don't be surprised if one day soon you start singing "tra la la la la"...then......
sHa_runaround.gif

.....but don't worry, it's a symptom of giddiness.

giddy:

Frivolous and lighthearted; flighty.

Warning....don't try to cure it. :)

Great observations. Sometimes I try and imagine what it will be like and it is hard. I know what it will, or maybe should, feel like, but it's hard to imagine feeling that way. I'll find out soon enough. Glad you seem to be enjoying it.

Buy clothes that make you look like you are doing something even if you are not . I bought several gym outfits so it looks like I am always on my way to or from the gym . Plus they don't wrinkle during nap time and those elastic waists can be handy . Enjoy !