Fountain of Youth

mb

Full time employment: Posting here.
I decided to post this after reading the "Die at 80" topic:

http://outside.away.com/outside/bodywork/200604/high-intensity-training-1.html

It is an article from Outside magazine suggesting that brief, very intense physical exercise can increase natural human growth hormone (HGH) production and presumably slow the aging process.

I recall hearing many years ago that HGH production starts to decline in the 20s but that exercise stimulates production but have never bothered to research it.
(I'm an aerobic sports addict anyway so I would probably continue to do it even if it was unhealthy!)

The downside?  It hurts and it is easy to get injured.  I relearned that this week when I pulled a hamstring while doing 400m running intervals (part of the normal routine).

MB

I've been doing this workout for a few months and it is one if not the best workout you can do. You should check out his book and do the full workout, its not just the sprint 8.
There is one thing, you really need to take it slow for at least 8 weeks or so.

That looks interesting, I might have to try that for a few weeks, I'm always looking for something to throw in my workout mix.

I had never heard of this exercise routine before, but have been doing something similar for a few years now.

I walk every day after work. Every second or third day, I throw in some sprints during my walking. I don't do the sprints every day because my joints scream at me too much if I try to do them more often (I'm 48).

Like the guy in the article, I run in my neighborhood. There is grassy stretch right in front of my house where I sprint (I've found that running on grass is easier on the joints). When I start to feel like I'm on the edge of a muscle strain or pull, I ease back on the exertion level. Most of the time I run at only 80 to 90% of my top speed because it's way too easy to blow something out that will take a long time to heal.