Join Early Retirement Today
Closed Thread
Has anyone considered retiring to the town you grew up in?
Old 09-06-2016, 07:26 AM   #1
gone traveling
Has anyone considered retiring to the town you grew up in?

I am sixty one (61) years old and when I graduated from college in 1979 I decided to move to a big metro area where there were lots of jobs for young people like me who were full of energy and drive. I wanted to make lots of money and work in a competitive organization. So I moved to "dog eat dog" Washington DC. Someone said: "if you want a friend in Washington DC, get a dog."

Well the last 37 years living in the greater DC area has been interesting. But after a few successes and some great years, the town has eaten me alive. The office politics just ate me alive. I made lots of enemies and just a few casual friends. I am now a old beaten down unemployed 61 year old man who looks and feels more like 70.

When I moved to DC my father warned me that the town would eat me alive. He was right. Maybe I should have stayed in Saint Cloud Minnesota and taken that job at the bank I was offered.

Is it too late? Can I retire to the town I grew up in and maybe should have stayed in in 1979? Can you go home again?

Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!