I'm working but mentally I'm retired. Good or bad?

Rob

Recycles dryer sheets
Hi all,
I have not been here for a while, as I've been busy adjusting. I'm a 60 year old teacher. I am also a "permanent resident" in Singapore and former teacher at an international school there for 20 years. It was great, and I still call Singapore home and can go there anytime to live. I had intended to just "hang out", do my yoga, swim, maybe tutor in my field (physics and chemistry) and enjoy an unstructured life. However, I received a phone call from a friend and ex-colleague in Amman, Jordan to ask if I would help out by teaching science at his school where he is a headmaster. Apparently there was a late resignation. and he had some difficulty getting a replacement. I accepted although my mental state was retirement.

Here is my interesting self observation. I still think I'm retired, but my teaching now is geared toward one year contracts and helping out schools in need. I have nothing to prove any more in education, and now I want to work hard not to advance my teaching career but instead just help out. It's a liberating feeling actually.

Before I arrived in Jordan, I was actually fearful of being in a country next to Iraq. Instead what I am finding is a country with some of the most hospitable people in the world. In general, they hate the US government (and I'm not crazy about it either), but they like visitors no matter where they are from. I get lost easily as I drive around the city, and when I ask for help, I'm invited for tea and make friends while I am receiving directions. I find Amman very safe, but realize that no city is really totally safe and exercise normal precautions. The weather is frankly the best I've ever experienced. Crystal blue skies, warm or cool dry weather, and with winter coming, I'm looking forward to the occasional snow.