Inexpensive Mediterranean climate for retirement?

duckcalldan

Dryer sheet aficionado
Hi, I'm brand new to E-R. We'll be empty nesters in 2018 and anticipate retiring, downsizing and moving from our home in Virginia sometime after then. I'm originally from Sonoma County and desperately miss my dry CA summers without mosquitos, chiggers or AC. As much as I'd love to move back there, housing prices are crazy to the point where it just doesn't make economic sense until/unless the bubble pops.

Having said that, I would love to compile a list of suitable domestic or intl retirement destinations that have a Mediterranean climate and a low or moderate COL. I would prefer being within 30 miles of the coast so a far inland climate (with hotter summers) wouldn't be my first choice.

Looking forward to your responses!

Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum

If you go outside the touristic areas - Sicily meets your criteria. Climate is similar to San Diego (think citrus and palm trees and bougenvilla).

Southern Sicily has great beaches and great weather. But the places I'm thinking of - you'd need to learn Italian.

To get a Mediterranean climate, there's nothing like, er, going to the Mediterranean. It may not be cheap, however.

The only good places in the Mediterranean to live are members of the EU. Unless you're a college student, forget getting a Visa to live within the EU. The Schengen Agreement states that U.S. citizens can only stay in the EU 90 days out of 180 days. The UK is not included. Obviously, the EU countries are not allowing Americans coming over to use their National Healthcare systems.

We're going to visit Malta 4/29. Although it's just south of Sicily, they speak English and Maltese there. And it looks like a glorious place to live. I don't know about being a US expatriate and living there, however.

Cape Town South Africa has a Mediterranean climate. Is it cheap?