Join Early Retirement Today

List your most effective expense saving moves
Old 09-15-2015, 09:47 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Send a message via Yahoo to lem1955
List your most effective expense saving moves

I'm just getting started on cutting expenses without reducing our quality of life. Eager to hear about others' expense cutting strategies.
So far -
1) joined Fuel Group to cut LP heating expense
2) changed trash pickup providers
3) added additional solar capacity and mini split heat pump (yes there is an initial investment and payback period)
4) dropped HBO from DirecTV and added Netflix streaming instead (contemplating more changes)
5) last year replaced old cars with more fuel efficient cars (2011 Honda CRV and 2010 Toyota Prius)

What does your list look like?
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-15-2015, 09:56 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

My biggest cost cutting expense has been to stop buying stocks at their highs ... I've done pretty well in the past few weeks.