Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2014, 03:30 PM   #41
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by omni550 View Post
I have a question. Several posters mentioned connecting their Ooma telo into their old POTS lines in their home. I'm wondering how this is accomplished?

If I understand correctly, the Ooma telo is connected to the internet via the modem/router. How and where do your [old copper house] telephone lines get involved with Oooma and the phone(s) you plan to use with Ooma?

omni
If your existing home wiring is not connected to the phone company you plug the ooma into one of the phone jacks and the other phone jacks have your phones on them. Not connected to the phone company would be no dial tone when you pick up a phone. If you used to be connected you probably still have emergency 911 service so this option will often not work.

You can also play games with line1 and line2 and possibly get it to work.

See ooma website at Connecting your phone jacks | Free Internet Home Phone Service | Ooma
__________________

__________________
This sig intentionally left blank.
gozer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-21-2014, 07:27 PM   #42
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Rustward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by omni550 View Post
I have an existing answering machine (as part of my wall mounted cordless phone) but not sure how (or if) it would interact with an Ooma telo system.

omni
On the Ooma, you set the "voicemail pick-up time" in seconds, from 10 to 59 inclusive. If the phone rings that long, Ooma voicemail will answer it. If your answering machine picks up before the "voicemail pick-up time" set in the Ooma, then the machine will get the call.
__________________

__________________
Rustward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 08:55 PM   #43
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by omni550 View Post
Thanks. Good to know.

And if you have cable internet (as I do), is there a way to utilize the extant POTS wiring? My cable internet router and modem are in a far-off bedroom. I'd like to place an Ooma telo unit in my kitchen and use my house phones where they are currently located (3 bedrooms and kitchen). What is required to have that type of set-up with Ooma?

omni
Had exact same situation. That is why I bought the unit that came with
"wireless" adapter.

It was a real "head ache" to make the wireless process work. Called Ooma CSR several times. Did reset, upplug, modem, router, etc....

Did not work, wasted hours on the phone with Ooma CSR's.
Googled the wireless problem. Seems many posts had similar issue.
Unit work's fine without wireless, but problem with wireless.

eventually, I found a "post" when I googled the problem. Followed that
person's instructions, and NOW, the wireless feature works great. NO
issues. (strange, the Ooma CSR could not fix the problem).

Also, it seems a lot of people are able to use landline phones hooked up to Ooma. I read somewhere on the internet, older Ooma units allowed this, but newer Ooma units do not allow this.

agree, disconnecting the land line connection is a must.
__________________
wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 09:00 AM   #44
Recycles dryer sheets
bamsphd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by omni550 View Post
I have an existing answering machine (as part of my wall mounted cordless phone) but not sure how (or if) it would interact with an Ooma telo system.
You can configure how many seconds Ooma waits before its answering machine mode answers the phone. Assuming you set that to the maximum, I think that was 59 seconds, then your existing answering machine will answer before Ooma answers. There is one exception, Ooma will answer when a second call comes in while you or your existing answering machine are on the phone. Basically Ooma will act as a call-waiting answering machine.

Alternatively, you could set Ooma to answer quickly, and tell your existing answering machine to either never answer, or to only answer after a large number of rings. Then Ooma would be your only answering machine.
__________________
bamsphd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 09:09 AM   #45
Recycles dryer sheets
bamsphd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolf View Post
Also, it seems a lot of people are able to use landline phones hooked up to Ooma. I read somewhere on the internet, older Ooma units allowed this, but newer Ooma units do not allow this.
We just bought our Ooma hardware direct from Ooma this fall. It works fine with plain old landline compatible phones, including landline style wireless phones. Sounds like someone on the internet was confused or intentionally spreading FUD (fear uncertainty and doubt).

Ooma does also sell fancy wireless handsets which can do MORE than a traditional landline style phone. We were too frugal cheap to purchase such a fancy handset.
__________________
bamsphd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 06:15 AM   #46
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 388
I've been using Ooma since 2008 with the first generation equipment and zero monthly charges. Very happy with it. Works fine here in Thailand and no noticeable latency. I believe it is still possible to buy the original equipment on Ebay and get the free service.
__________________
Khufu is offline   Reply With Quote
$99 "Lowest pricing" on Ooma ends June 13
Old 06-09-2014, 01:11 PM   #47
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,988
$99 "Lowest pricing" on Ooma ends June 13

I just noticed that the Ooma website is advertising a $99 price ending June 13 ($99 after $20 instant and $30 post activation credit, free shipping).

Free Home Phone Service | Ooma – Ranked # 1 Internet Home Phone Service
__________________
omni550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 08:03 PM   #48
Recycles dryer sheets
mn54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: mpls, mn
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by omni550 View Post
I just noticed that the Ooma website is advertising a $99 price ending June 13 ($99 after $20 instant and $30 post activation credit, free shipping).

Free Home Phone Service | Ooma – Ranked # 1 Internet Home Phone Service
That is a very good deal. I have had ooma for at least 4 years now. Best move I ever made. If I remember I paid around $170 at costco. It was even more at best buy.
__________________
mn54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 05:12 PM   #49
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
gauss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,709
Does anyone know if you can return the unit for a refund within a reasonable period of time? I would consider it if it was a significant improvement in quality over my existing setup.

BTW their web site showed June 22 to me as the expiration date for the $99 deal.

-gauss
__________________
gauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 10:40 PM   #50
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by gauss View Post
Does anyone know if you can return the unit for a refund within a reasonable period of time? I would consider it if it was a significant improvement in quality over my existing setup.

BTW their web site showed June 22 to me as the expiration date for the $99 deal.

-gauss
I just ordered an Ooma telo the other day and the customer service guy I dealt with said he'd give me 60 days ipo the usual 30.

omni
__________________
omni550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 10:48 PM   #51
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 637
We bought Ooma in May, ported our number and cut the cord. LOVE it! The app on the iphone is nice too- if you have Wi-Fi, you make free calls without using your minutes!
__________________
bizlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 10:55 AM   #52
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Chuckanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West of the Mississippi
Posts: 6,325
I have no business connection with any of these organizations. But, I do use Ooma and like it. Here's the lowest price I have seen. The unit is reconditioned.

Ooma Telo VoIP Home Phone System
__________________
The worst decisions are usually made in times of anger and impatience.
Chuckanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 03:15 PM   #53
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,259
I don't have Ooma. I have Vonage, and I just researched and found out that Vonage would be cheaper than Ooma for me since Vonage doesn't charge for international calls (Oooma does) and the Vonage monthly charge for me would be lower than a Ooma monthly charge.
__________________
tmm99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 01:29 PM   #54
Dryer sheet wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 22
I've used both Vonage and Ooma and have found the voice quality to be higher on Vonage. Make sure you have a high bandwidth internet connection, both upstream and downstream, before making the switch otherwise the voice quality will really suffer.


Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum
__________________
rrppve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 02:14 PM   #55
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrppve View Post
I've used both Vonage and Ooma and have found the voice quality to be higher on Vonage. Make sure you have a high bandwidth internet connection, both upstream and downstream, before making the switch otherwise the voice quality will really suffer.


Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum
That is not really the case. VOIP doesn't require much bandwidth at all. Only 64 kbps.

Meet VoIP bandwidth requirements without crippling your network performance - TechRepublic

Quote:
G.711 64 kbps 4.1 This is the most universally supported codec used in IP telephony. This narrowband codec supports frequencies in the 300 to 3,400 hertz range and is uncompressed. Although the quality is very good, it consumes a lot of bandwidth.
When they say 'a lot', they mean relative to the other codecs that perform more compression, or limit the audio quality further. For most of us, 64kbps is not 'a lot'.

But you need low latency and low jitter. Sometimes these are poor even when the speed is high.

Here's a site for testing VOIP:

VoIP Speed, Bandwidth, and Jitter Test | WhichVoIP.com

Higher BW comes into play if someone is downloading/streaming while you are on a call.

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Ooma and Ooma handsets
Old 07-06-2014, 02:19 PM   #56
Dryer sheet wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 22
Ooma and Ooma handsets

Try an Ooma call with 64kbps and you will be very disappointed with the results. They even claim you need a minimum of 200-300, which is really not enough for satisfactory results.


Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum
__________________
rrppve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 02:26 PM   #57
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrppve View Post
Try an Ooma call with 64kbps and you will be very disappointed with the results. They even claim you need a minimum of 200-300, which is really not enough for satisfactory results.


Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum
Sure, you need to provide some overhead, but 64kbps is technically all the VOIP will consume.

The point is, most people have plenty of 'speed', that is not usually the limiting factor. At one point when I was getting 1Mbps speeds down and ~ 300mbps up, and my VOIP was sometimes terrible, because I was getting high jitter (I'm on a fixed wireless connection). They found an interference problem, fixed that, and my speeds didn't change, but the jitter dropped to something much better. Calls were clear then w/o breakup.

Since then they've got me on a 3Mbps down, 1Mbps up. No real difference to the calls.

They should run the test I linked (or other VOIP quality test - not just a speed test), it will test ALL the factors that affect VOIP, and give a MOS score. Speed is only one factor, and not an issue for most people.

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 12:44 PM   #58
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
NW-Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19,406
My home phone is on Ooma now. After years of vacillation telling myself I need to do a bit more research to see what VOIP service is the best while keeping paying $30/month for the land line, I ordered the Telo box for $109, installed it, and was done with it.

I did not buy their WiFi stick because of some problems I read on the Web. And it so happened that the local electronic store had a WiFi bridge (WiFi to RJ45 Ethernet) on sale for $7, so I bought that instead, figuring that if the bridge does not work with Ooma Telo I can use it for something else. It works OK.

I evaluated the delay time by making calls to it from my cell phone, and also from the existing land-line phone which is not really POTs but internet based (service offered by local cable company). The delay with the cell phone is perceptibly less, but still quite apparent. What I really want to do is a comparison between POTS-to-POTS vs. POTS-Telo, but I do not have a POTS line, left alone two.

I should try a hardwired connection between the Ooma Telo and the router to see if elimination of the WiFi hop helps, but that would put the Telo at an inconvenient location. I may try that anyway to see if there's any difference.

After requesting the phone number porting via Ooma's Web site, I was surprised to see that they did it in 3 days, instead of the 2 weeks that they promised.

I am still debating whether to pay the $10/month for premium service. The 2nd phone number is superfluous to us as we still have our cell phones, but the other features look nice to have, such as call forwarding, parallel ringing, or voice mail over the Internet, etc... However, the missus is in her frugal mode, and says we do not need it. I still worry that without support, they may just go belly up. They probably will raise some minimum charge in the future if it is needed to stay afloat than to close shop.
__________________
"Old age is the most unexpected of all things that can happen to a man" -- Leon Trotsky
NW-Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 02:06 PM   #59
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 8,601
I'm happy to pay the Ooma Premier charge for just two features: The "instant second line" which you'll need if you want to integrate it with your Google Voice, and the Personal Blacklist, which lets you block an unlimited number of phone numbers (basically every telemarketer/survey/political call that ever gets through). There are other valuable features, but these two make it worth at least $10/month to me.
__________________
braumeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 02:14 PM   #60
Moderator
MBAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,154
+1 on the personal blacklist. We still get too darn many cr*p calls but a whole lot less than we used to.


Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum
__________________

__________________
"One of the funny things about the stock market is that every time one person buys, another sells, and both think they are astute." William Feather
----------------------------------
ER'd Oct. 2010 at 53. Life is good.
MBAustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:02 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.