Photography gurus - need advice

Gearhead

Dryer sheet wannabe
I love to go to car shows and love cars. And I'm a decent hand at photography. I'd like to combine the two to make a little extra income, but don't know how to go about starting the process. I need advice on copyrights, whether I need to pay the car owners if I sell photos of their cars, how to start a website, etc. Can anybody point me in the right direction?

I love to go to car shows and love cars. And I'm a decent hand at photography. I'd like to combine the two to make a little extra income, but don't know how to go about starting the process. I need advice on copyrights, whether I need to pay the car owners if I sell photos of their cars, how to start a website, etc. Can anybody point me in the right direction?

I'm not a lawyer or a "professional" photographer...

I would imagine there's some limitation on commercial photography at a car show, though that's just a hunch.

Copyrights are somewhat optional; the gummint says an item is copyrighted the moment it is created, though for commercial purposes, I'd register officially. As I understand it, you can copyright a collection/album of photos or music under one copyright.

U.S. Copyright Office - Copyright in General (FAQ)

U.S. Copyright Office - Current Fees

As for a website, that's easy. Figuring how to generate revenue from it is the hard part.

I don't know about car shows, but unless something is in a public venue I always ask if I can take pictures and say what I will do with such.

See:

Photography For Profit
Freelance For Profit:
Stock Photos Allow Both Amateur and Professional Photographers to Profit
http://www.sticky-marketing.net/articles/the-ethics-of-copyright.htm

or subscribe to this Blog:

Make Money Selling Your Photos and Marketing Your Photography Business - Photopreneur

That [-]will [/-] could give a good start to your search for enlightenment.

... don't know how to go about starting the process. ....