Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Post Retirement Job Recommendations
Old 08-20-2008, 09:48 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Post Retirement Job Recommendations

I am looking for some retirement jobs that would be a good fit for me. I am retiring early from the Northeast and moving to Florida, because I hate cold weather. I have a degree in Engineering, but there are not many engineering jobs down here, plus it is not something I really enjoy doing. I am looking for a job that would be flexible. Ideally I would want to work 20 hours a week or so and be able to take off for several vacations per year. It has to be something I would enjoy doing and has to pay more than minimum wage, otherwise I would just do volunteer work. I would want to make at least $20/hour or it would not be worth my time. Mostly I want the job, because I get bored easily and want something fun to do, get a chance to meet people being I know nobody else down here, and to earn a little extra money to travel. I would not mind going back to school for a couple of years in order to find a job I would really enjoy. One thought is to go back and get my Master in Accounting. That way I could work part time at an accounting firm or just work during the tax season. I ran my own business for years and did my own accounting and always enjoyed it. Of course, you never know until you are actually doing it for a living whether you will really like it or not. Also with my Master’s Degree I could be adjunct teacher at a community college. I would appreciate any information on those jobs as a retiree part time job. To give a better idea of the type of job I think I would like, I always thought about being an Optometrist. But I really do not want to go back to a full time school for 4 plus years. Maybe somebody here has an idea of another job like that. What I like about that career is: