Pre-Paying Funeral Expenses

frayne

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Don't know if I've ever seen this brought up and if I did I must have skipped over it. Yesterday DW came home from a prayer meeting with some information concerning pre-paying funeral expenses for the old dirt nap we will all be taking someday. We are both planning to be roasted and toasted (cremated), no showing and just a small grave side service for family and close friends. Being a vet I plan to be planted along with DW in the national cemetery down here in Chattanooga so a grave site expense is not an issue. Seeing how this group is pretty logical and rational when it comes to spending and future planning just wonder what some of your thoughts are. Good idea, any downsides, etc. ?
Appreciate any and all comments in advance.

Supposing you have prepaid and you're out of the country when you die....as the song goes "Then what?"

My mother did this over 20 years ago. She is currently 92 so I suspect we will soon be “collecting” on it. In my opinion, she “overbought” the funeral though. She got an expensive casket, several days of visitation, etc. At this point a much simpler funeral would have made more sense given the fact that most of her friends and many of her relatives have predeceased her.

Great auntie did this as well but we didn't have any specifics on what she wanted. We made the arrangements through the funeral home and they applied the prepayment plus accrued interest to the bill. In our case, the prepayment and accrued interest exceeded the cost so we received a check for the excess.

Danmar, check with the funeral home about whether she can change the arrangements at this point... in our case, we could and did since we had no idea waht she was planning. She was in her early 90s and away from where she lived most of her live (but where she grew up) so there were only about 25 relatives at her memorial service.

On the face of it this seems to be a reasonable idea.