Retiree college student (or: the grey wolf)

pedorrero

Recycles dryer sheets
Well, the fourth week at USF is about to start. I'm 46, a part-time student again (it's been five years). Not the oldest on campus, but pretty close to it. I'm studying Spanish (BA program) probably to no career end (who wants to w*ork:confused:) but it'll come in handy on future trips south of the border, or shopping in Florida for that matter. I certainly enjoy the student body (so to speak) ... thank goodness for the warm winters. My main complaint is the long commute: about an hour each way. Also no takers (yet) on finding other students to study with. But I recommend higher education, even with baser motives >:D for the dirty old man who likes to broaden his mind while minding the broads.

-- Pedorrero, who can't vote for Ron Paul this Tuesday (because he's a registered Libertarian) but did pick up a bumper sticker at campus.

i've had a few college professor friends over the years and i could never understand how they work that job. every year they get older but the students never age like some dorian gray nightmare.

learning more spanish is a great idea. it really opens up a whole other world of travel and gives you lots more options on where to retire.

i was at usf in 1975-about 77. lived at fontana hall, an off-campus, dormatory-style, 13-story zoo on fletcher at north end of campus. we used to put a table and chairs in the elevator and play cards or backgammon there.

when hurricane wilma cut our electric for two weeks i got out of town and did a roadtrip around florida. while in tampa i visted my old haunt. got to go inside fontana hall (think it has new name now--cool, just found it The Edge on 42nd | Tampa, FL Student Housing) and spoke to some of the students. then i toured the campus and i almost started to tear up because i couldn't find the library. so much change over 30 years.