Join Early Retirement Today

retiring early with younger children
Old 04-24-2016, 02:48 PM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

retiring early with younger children

Hello,

We will potentially be FI when I turn 45 (in 3 years). I would need to work about 1/4 time to meet current expenses and the rest of our portfolio would grow til true/total retirement 20 years later. The work I do can be done in spurts of a week or a month at a time (I'm a doctor, I can do locums work in my area, through telemedicine, or I can travel away from home).

My question is about retiring with kids. Ours will be about 13 and 10 at the time. Therefore they will be very busy in school and extensive travel will not be possible. Also, I worry that just bumming around the house would set a bad example for them. But I don't really want to retire just to sit around the house - I basically want to travel. Driving around in an RV for a month; hiking across Europe for a month; bicycling in Asia for a month. The kinds of things which are not possible working full time.

Thoughts?

Thank you
brainsqueeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!