Suggestions for language immersion?

omni550

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I'm thinking about refreshing my oh-so-rusty Spanish skills (studied for 6 yrs in jr. high & high school, about 40+ years ago) along with traveling somewhere. So, to me, an immersion program sounds like it would fit the bill. Does anyone have any suggestions of schools, countries, things to consider,etc.?

Since air fare will be a big chunk of the cost, I'm thinking a 2 or 3 week stay would be more cost-effective, as well as better for language learning.

I'm also wondering how to determine where I fit into a school's program. I have some preexisting knowledge (that is buried somewhere in the recesses of my brain) and would likely get bored in a class of beginners. At the same time, I don't want to be so 'over my head' that I don't maximize my learning.

Also, once I get back, any suggestions on how to maintain my new skills?

Thanks,

omni

Hmm. How about starting with an indefinitely long vacation in Mazatlan (for example) or Lake Chapala and talk to the expats about a place to study. No need to plan it all in advance from a distance.

If you have the time, take more time. 3 weeks is hardly enough. You didn't say if you were retired or what.

What do you mean, 'when you come back'? Why would you come back? OK, move to California or Arizona or Tejas. Or get a cable package with Sabado Gigante on it.

Or take a long vacation in a different Latin American country every winter.

Omni: I totally agree with Ed on his comment. I´m Spanish and been reading American English novels all my life. And I started 6 years ago to listen to current bestselling audiobooks. I¨ve stayed in both countries several times for very short periods of time and I have reached the conclusion that, unless you are a natural for languages, you need a year of inmersion at least.