what did you do today? (2008-2015) (closed)

Status
Not open for further replies.
We went to see a film yesterday. One of the local cinemas has a balcony reserved seating section with full bar and grill until the film begins, and we thought we would check it out. My thinking - at least people there won't be flashing their cell phones all during the movie to check their facebook page updates.

I was wrong...
One of my pet peeves. I really misjudged the whole shift to mobile devices. As a kid in the 1970's, I was an eager ham radio operator and used to spend many of my waking hours talking to other ham operators on the radio, whether I was at home or outside. I took my radio with me everywhere. It was a real novelty. Then after my late 20's, the novelty of being able to do it anywhere wore off, and I settled into a routine of doing ham radio at home only.

When mobile phones started getting smaller, I remember Nokia being touted as a very promising stock. The predictions ran that mobile was going to be huge, and people would become inseparable from their wireless devices. I dismissed that prediction, because I thought that only radio and electronics geeks like myself would be interested in being attached to a wireless device wherever they went. The large majority of well-adjusted adults would have no interest.

How very wrong I was. I still don't quite understand why some people can't just put their darned phones down and look at the view, talk to a stranger, or just be comfortable being in the moment with themselves. It annoys me sometimes; other times I find it comic.

I'm only 48 and am far too young to feel this cranky and disconnected from popular culture, but I do.

PS - I use Facebook often, but at home only. I don't even own a cell phone.