Join Early Retirement Today
Closed Thread

Old 08-04-2014, 06:39 PM   #14781
Moderator Emeritus

Quote:
Originally Posted by W2R View Post
Oh good! I have never done a big remodel like this before and I am pretty overwhelmed at the moment. I was just measuring my master bedroom to see if they could carve into that for some room for the shower. I would still have room for my bed, but not much else. If they need to enlarge the other bathroom instead, that would mean sacrificing my barely 9'x9' office and turning the house into a supposed 2 bedroom instead of 3 bedroom.

Just finding out what tile is both suited to a highly watery environment like a wet shower floor, and has a high enough friction coefficient to prevent slipping, and is in stock locally has kept me busy this morning. Oh, and it has to be in the brown/tan range, and the little 1" tiles (in sheets) float my boat. I think I want to use the same tile for the shower floor and the bathroom floors. I will probably want a bigger tile for the shower surround.

And then, the present "vanity" (cabinet that the sink is in), is 43" wide which is an uncommon size and I haven't found any that size in stock locally. But it can't be even an inch bigger, and smaller ones often seem to lack drawers.

I won't even BEGIN to vent about what I am reading online concerning the effectiveness of the new low flow toilets that are apparently all that is available today.

And good luck on yours, too! Are you choosing all these things yourself, or do you have a designer?
I guess DW is the designer and I'm the contractor. She bought the tile already. Unlike you, I don't plan on taking out our tub/shower enclosure. I'm just going to rip out the toilet, vanity, wallpaper, mirror, flooring, shower door, lighting and replace with new. My BIL is excellent with tile and will help me with that. I may build my own vanity and install wainscoting if I get ambitious.

Quote: