What Skills Do You Find Useful/Not Useful?

ImThinkin2019

Recycles dryer sheets
I'm wondering what skills people have learned over the years that they find particularly useful. Or not useful. I'll start.

In no particular priority order:

• Knife Sharpening (best instruction Instructional Videos - Carter Cutlery Co.)
  • Plumbing, Wiring, Carpentry, General Home Repair
  • Weight Lifting
  • Cooking
  • Vacuuming (last birthday card from DW showed a man with apron vacuuming and said "very sexy")

Cycling - when you are not in a hurry, it is a great, guilt free way to explore. I find people much more accessible to chat with when I am on a bike - than surrounded by metal and glass, zipping by.

And the best thing is how much you get to eat when you cycle. :)

Sewing and mending.

A.

1. Confidence that I can figure out how to build/fix something so I am willing to try even if it is something that I have never done before and a willingness to risk failing.
2. An ability to know when something is over my head and I need to call in an expert.

Last edited:
Coming from a midwestern background of poor, self-sufficient folk...

I have gardened, repaired, sewed, plumbed, wired, painted, nailed, <ahem> screwed, cut, driven, built, demolished, hauled, loaded, and generally done most everything...

Sometimes badly!

Useful - writing skills, organizing vacation trips - great for independent travel, cooking.

Coming from a midwestern background of poor, self-sufficient folk...

I have gardened, repaired, sewed, plumbed, wired, painted, nailed, <ahem> screwed, cut, driven, built, demolished, hauled, loaded, and generally done most everything...

Sometimes badly!

Although a South-westerner by birth, I've got those poor, self-sufficient hillbilly genes. Pretty much jack-of-all-trades as well. But my most important survival skill is keeping my wife happy! ;)